Our organisation

Library Consultative Committee

About the Library Consultative Committee


  • University Librarian
  • Associate Librarian, Client Services
  • An elected member from each Faculty (preferably from the Faculty Library Committee or Faculty Education Committee)
  • An elected member from the Academic Services Division
  • Other Library staff may be in attendance as necessary

Membership should be on a two year rolling basis to ensure continuity. Academic staff may be elected for a second term if agreed by the faculty.

Terms of reference

  • Contribute to the development and review of policies, objectives and priorities for the provision of library and information services.
  • Advise on information resource requirements to support key research, teaching and learning.
  • Advise the University Librarian on planning for future library and information services which meet the goals of the faculties and University.
  • Monitor the effectiveness of service provision.
  • Act as a conduit for information between faculties and Library.


To provide:

  • a forum for communicating library policies and services to the University community
  • feedback to Library staff, through representatives of students and academic staff, on the effectiveness of services an opportunity to raise and discuss initiatives for the provision of services


  • The Committee will normally meet two to three times per year. Additional meetings may be scheduled on a needs basis.
  • All members will be invited to contribute agenda items.
  • The University Librarian will chair the meetings.
  • Minutes will be recorded by the Associate Librarian, Client Services and distributed, for confirmation, within five working days of the meeting.
  • On confirmation, minutes of the meeting will be posted on the Library web site.

Committee members

ChairpersonMs Margie JanttiUniversity Librarian
SecretaryMs Lesley NgataiAssociate Librarian, Client Services
Ex officioProf Rob CastleDeputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)
Academic Services DivisionMr Ray StaceCASR
Sydney Business SchoolMs Lauren RichardsonSydney Business School Innovation Campus Librarian
UOW CollegeMs Lynette Harris
Mr Henry Lee
Campus Director

Faculty representatives

ArtsDr Tony Simoes da Silva
Dr Debra Dudek
Associate Dean
Sub Dean
Creative ArtsDr Jon CockburnFEC Chair
CommerceA/PR Michael ZankoAssociate Dean
EducationA/PR Ian BrownAssociate Dean
EngineeringDr Vinod Jayan SylajaCivil Mining and Environmental Engineering
Graduate School of MedicineMr Darryl McAndrew-
Health and Behavioural ScienceDr Karen Walton-
InformaticsA/PR Graham WilliamsDeputy Dean
LawMs Margaret Bond-
Medical Research InstituteMs Sue Baker-Finch-
ScienceA/PR Paul CarrAssociate Dean


Last reviewed: 24 October, 2013

Follow us

Visit UOW Library on Facebook Follow UOW Library on Twitter Visit UOW Library on YouTube Check out the MyUOW phone app