UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
UOW Archives
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Sitemap
 
 
 

Help guides

Need help? Check the relevant guides and search strategy worksheets listed below for help with:

Common questions about archives

Q1. What are archives?

See the Understanding about archives guide - This includes definitions of both 'archives' and 'primary sources'.

Q2. How do I find primary sources/archives related to my topic?

a) Start with the Finding historical primary sources guide. This includes many search tips.

b) Then move on to the Finding archives guide if needed - This has links to many other archives and libraries around Australia.

Q3. What's a good way to plan my search for primary sources/archives?

a) Use the Primary sources and archives worksheet [PDF file] - This shows how to plan each stage of your search.

b) Also use the related Search strategy keywords worksheet [PDF file] - This shows how to brainstorm keywords for your topic.

Q4. How can I check what's held in the UOW Archives?

See the Searching the UOW Archives guide.

Q5. Where else can I locate archives?

See the Finding archives guide - This has links to many other archives and libraries around Australia.

Q6. How do I cite archives?

See the Citing archival material guide.

top of page

More specific questions

Q7. Where can I find old newspapers?

See the Historical newspaper holdings guide.

Q8. How do I find historical information about the University of Wollongong?

See the UOW history, facts and figures guide.

Q9. How do I find archives on Education related subjects?

See the History of Australian education and welfare guide.

Q10. Does the Archives hold any family history information?

Start with the Library's Biographies guide - this lists search tips and selected web sites for finding biographical as well as genealogical information sources.

Q11. Does the Archives hold anything on local mining disasters?

Start with the Library's Disasters guide - this lists selected primary sources for information on major accidents which have occurred in the Illawarra.

Q12. How do I find archives on Australian women?

See the Australian women's history guide.

top of page

 

 

 

Revised: 07-Aug-2008 15:43 :: Content by: Archivist

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback