UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
UOW Archives
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Sitemap
 
 
 

Historical primary sources

What are primary sources?

Primary sources

Records that provide firsthand accounts or evidence of historical events or experiences. Primary source material can be published (eg. reports, autobiographies, interviews in contemporary newspapers) or unpublished (eg. original letters, diaries, papers held within an archive).

Secondary sources

Secondhand accounts of historical events or experiences, which analyse and interpret the relevant primary sources. Secondary source material (eg. books, textbooks, journal articles) is usually written at a much later time after the event.

Note: You may also find primary source material reproduced within a secondary source, such as a documentary history or a biography.

[The above definitions have been modelled on those provided on the Library of Congress’ Historian's Sources web guide.]

top of page

Searching web sites

Some libraries, archives and museums have begun digitising examples of original texts, documents and pictures in their collections, so that you can view the fulltext and/or images of these on their web sites. For example:

top of page

Searching the Library Catalogue

The Library holds a wide range of published documentary histories, autobiographies etc. Many older titles can be difficult to locate on the Library Catalogue due to their broad subject headings. Try some of the recommended search terms shown below.

Historical documents and reports

To find books containing official documents, reports, historic news items etc., use a Keyword search on the Catalogue and try adding terms such as:

  • source* (finds sources, sourcebook, primary sources)
  • document* (finds documents, documentary history, documentary account)
  • record* and histor* (finds historic records or historical records)
  • report* (finds report, royal commission report)
  • speeches
  • facsim* (finds facsim., facsimiles, facsimile reproduction)
  • reprint* and histor* (finds historical reprints)

For example: keyword> australia* and histor* and document*

For other sources of government reports check the Library's Indexes to Parliamentary Papers guide.

top of page

Autobiographies, diaries and letters

To find autobiographical accounts of events use a Keyword search on the Catalogue and try adding terms such as:

  • biograph* (finds biography, biographies or biographical)
  • autobiograph* (finds autobiography, autobiographies or autobiographical)
  • narrative* (finds personal narratives or narrative account)

If the above terms do not produce results try more specific terms such as:

  • diar* (finds diary or diaries)
  • letter* (finds letter or letters)
  • correspondence
  • memoir* (finds memoir or memoirs)
  • travel* (finds travel writings or travelers' account)
  • notebook* (finds notebook or notebooks)

For example: keyword> war* and narrative*

For more sources of biographical information check the Library's Biographies guide.

top of page

Oral histories

To find transcripts or recordings of oral histories use a Keyword search on the Catalogue and try adding terms such as:

  • oral histor* (finds oral history or oral histories)
  • interview* (finds interview or interviews)
  • reminisc* (finds reminiscences)
  • recollect* (finds recollections)

For example: keyword> war* and interview*

You can also check the Archives' collection of Oral History Recordings.

top of page

Photographs and images

To find pictorial coverage of historical events use a Keyword search on the Catalogue and try adding terms such as:

  • photo** (finds photographs, photographic)
  • pict** (finds pictures, pictorial works)
  • ill** (finds illustrated, illustrations)
  • image* (finds images)

For example: keyword> sydney and histor* and pict**

You can also search the various online image collections available from the Finding Archives web page.

top of page

More catalogue search tips

    Think about the broader terms or phrases that describe your subject area. Try searching for these using a Keyword search.
    For example: keyword> british colonialism

    Use the *truncation symbol to broaden your search to find all the variations of a particular word (use the ** symbol to truncate more than 5 letters)
    For example: keyword> coloni** (finds colonial, colonialism, colonies, colonisation, colonization, etc.)

    When you find an item on the Catalogue look at the subject headings used to describe it. These may provide other useful terms for searching.
    For example: subject> great britain colonies

    For Australian primary sources also try searching on the names of the individual states and territories.
    For example: keyword> new south wales and history

top of page

Examples of documentary history books

Examples of published collections of historical documents held in the Library's Main Lending Collection (Level 1) include:

Title Call number
Australia's Women: A Documentary History 305.420994/22
The Struggle for Aboriginal Rights: A Documentary History 323.119915/27
Documents on Australian Foreign Policy 1937-49 (multivolume set) 327.94/8
Australian Trade Unionism in Documents 331.880994/42
Australian Labor History in Documents (3 volumes) 335.00994/3
Select Documents in Australian Education, 1788-1900 370.994/2
Documents on the Establishment of Education in New South Wales, 1789-1880 370.9944/12
Historic Documents of World War 1 940.3/26
Historic Documents of World War 11 940.3508/1
Documents and Readings in the History of Europe Since 1918 940.5/19
History Of South-East, South And East Asia: Essays And Documents 950/22
Select Documents in Australian History (Clark) 994/3
Modern Australia in Documents (Crowley) (2 volumes) 994.04/2
A Documentary History of Australia (Crowley) (multivolume set) 994.04/2A
Historical Records of New South Wales (multivolume set) 994.4/59
Historical Records of Victoria (multivolume set) 994.502/8

top of page

Need further help?

Contact Research Help staff.

 

 

Revised: 11-Aug-2008 11:10 :: Content by: Archivist

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback