| |
Searching the UOW Archives
Searching the archival collections
Brief title descriptions of all collections are listed on the Archives web site. Many of these include links to the individual collection inventories.
Please note! Not all the Archives' collections have been fully catalogued and not all collection inventories are available online.
Search the Archives web site
Use the University Site Search engine. To restrict your search to the Archives web pages use the following Advanced Search strategy:
- In the 'Search for' box type in the word Archives
- In the 'Restrict search to specific areas/scope' dropdown menu select: Library
- In the 'Require these words' box type in a single keyword: eg. Bellambi
Or to search for a phrase, type the relevant words into the 'Exact Phrase' search box: eg. May Day
top of page
Browse the inventories
Collection inventories available online are listed on the 'Collections in the Archives' web pages.
Browse the collections' brief title descriptions. Download a relevant inventory to view the detailed list of items within that collection.
If a particular inventory is not available online contact the Archivist to check if a hardcopy is available in the Archives Office.
Consult the subject indexes
Subject based card catalogues and printed bibliographies are held in the Archives Office.
These provide detailed indexes to some of the older collections. They supplement the inventories on the Archives web site. For more information contact the Archivist.
top of page
Searching the publication collections
Rare books, selected local history publications, journals and newspapers, as well as University of Wollongong publications held in the Archives Collection can be located using the Library Catalogue.
top of page
Search tips
Keep your search terms simple. Try single keywords, names of organisations or people's surnames. For example:
- coal (finds coal mining, Bellambi Coal Company)
- war (finds World War 1, Vietnam War)
Try broader terms related to your subject. For example:
- peace (if looking for material on anti-war protests)
- union (if looking for material on strikes)
In the Library Catalogue you can also use the * truncation symbol to broaden your search to find variations in word endings. For example:
- union* (will find union, unions, unionist, unionism)
top of page
Need further help?
Researchers with enquiries about specific holdings in the UOW Archives may wish to contact the Archivist to discuss further search options.
|
|
|
|
Content by: Archivist |