Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
This navigation menu requires Javascript to activate.
If you cannot enable Javascript use the breadcrumbs to navigate this website.
Databases for Arts
Database to try first
= fulltext = partial fulltext = CD ROM = new resource = more information = quota free if accessed by this link
Title
Tips
Notes
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (ATSIhealth)
Tips
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health. Australian.
1988 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Academic Onefile
Tips
The physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. International
1980 - present
Conditions of use
Gale
AUSTLIT
Tips
Australian literature. Australian creative writing and Australian writers.
From 1880s, comprehensive from 1988 - present
Conditions of use
Austlit website .
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Tips
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian.
publications 1988 - present, with older time series
This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website
ABS website
Australian Key Journals Periodicals Contents Index
Tips
Indexes articles from a range of older Australian journals (coverage dates range from the early 1900s up to the pre-1990s).
SETIS website
Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT
Tips
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian.
Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Cambridge Journals Online
Tips
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities
Conditions of use
Cambridge journals website
Columbia International Affairs Online - CIAO
Tips
International affairs, comparative politics, area studies. International
Dates vary
Conditions of use
CIAO website
Dissertations Abstracts
Tips
Thesis citations with abstracts. International.
1861 to present
Recent years may have 24 page preview. Option to order
Conditions of use
Proquest .
Duke University Press
Tips
Humanities and social sciences journals. International
Dates vary, most from 2000 - present
Conditions of use
Duke website
Econlit
Tips
Economics. International
1969 - present
Conditions of use
Ovid
Expanded Academic ASAP
Tips
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International.
1980 - present
Conditions of use
Gale InfoTrac
Factiva
Tips
Newspaper and company information
Factiva
Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh).
Family and Society Plus
Tips
Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australia.
Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present
This is Family database with selected fulltext added
Conditions of use
Informit
Illawarra Index
Index to local Illawarra newspapers and Illawarra Historical Society Bulletin
1950s - present
Wollongong City Library website
Informaworld
Tips
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International.
Conditions of use
Informit E-library
Now divided into Humanities and Social Sciences Collection and Engineering Collection
Tips
Informit e-Library provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials.
Conditions of use
Informit
International Encyclopedia of Communication
Communication Studies. Extended explorations of major topics, short definitions of key terms. Media, psychology and IT aspects of communication.
International
Blackwell
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Tips
Social and behavioural sciences and related areas
International
Conditions of use
ScienceDirect
JSTOR
Tips
Archives of significant scholarly journals published in the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences, music, business, mathematics and statistics.
Conditions of use
JSTOR
Lexis.com
Tips
Legal resources. International law.
Various dates
Lexis
MLA International Bibliography
Tips
Literature, language, linguistics and folklore. International.
1926 - present
Conditions of use
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
New York Review of Books
Tips
Reviews of books and the arts, including music, theatre, dance and film and issues arising from them.
1963 - present
NYRB website
Project Muse
Tips
Literature & criticism, cultural studies, history, language, political science, film, theatre & performing arts, philosophy & religion. International.
Various dates
Conditions of use
Project Muse website
Proquest 5000
Tips
Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International.
Various dates
Conditions of use
Proquest.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
Tips
Periodicals covering the social sciences.
Dates vary
Conditions of use
Proquest
Routledge Encyclopedia Of Philosophy Online
Tips
Philosophy and related disciplines
Conditions of Use
Routledge Reference
SAGE Journals Online
Tips
Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
International
SAGE Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform
Social Sciences and Humanities Proceedings on ISI Proceedings
Tips
Index to significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a range of humanities and social science disciplines.
Subset of ISI Proceedings, select when logged on
International
2002- present
Conditions of use
Thomson Scientific (ISI)
Sociological Abstracts
Tips
Sociology and related disciplines. International.
1952 - present Records after 1974 include abstracts
Conditions of use
CSA.
SourceOECD
Tips
OECD documents with emphasis on country comparison, periodicals, working papers, statistics, International Energy Agency statistics
Conditions of use
Source OECD Website
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Philosophy. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts.
Metaphysics Research Lab
Stanford University
Sydney Morning Herald Archives
Full content of the Sydney Morning Herald
1955 - 1990
Fairfax Media
Note: Click on "Access archive"
Times Digital Archive
Tips
Provides access to the digital images of every page of The Times (London). International with British focus.
1785-1985
Conditions of use
Gale InfoTrac
Web of Knowledge
Tips
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web
Dates vary for each database
Conditions of use
ISI Web of Knowledge
Web of Science
Tips
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present
Conditions of use
ISI Web of Knowledge
top of page
Other relevant databases
= fulltext = partial fulltext = CD ROM = new resource = more information = quota free if accessed by this link
Title
Tips
Notes
AIATSIS - Indigenous Studies Bibliography
Tips
Indigenous languages, cultures, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, arts, oral histories,history, legal issues. Australian.
1990 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
APEC Literature Database (APECLIT)
Tips
Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) and related topics.
Asia and Pacific.
1990 approx. - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Archives and Records Management Literature in Australia and New Zealand (ARLIT)
Tips
Archives, recordkeeping systems, electronic recordkeeping, disposal, user service, arrangement and description, and collection management and access 1940- 2000
Conditions of use
Informit
Art Abstracts (Wilson Art Abstracts)
Tips
Art. International.
1984 - present
Conditions of use
Ovid.
Asian Resources: A Select Directory of Databases (ASIANRES)
Tips
Information about selected Asia/Pacific related databases and services.
Asian.
Current to 2001
Conditions of use
Informit
Attorney-General's Information Service (AGIS) Plus Text
Tips
Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law.
Australian.
Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
AUSTGUIDE
Tips
General and educational. Australian focus.
1986 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
The Australasian Military History Database (MIHILIST)
Tips
Pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand and Papua-New Guinean military history and related topics.
1987 - 1999
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian and New Zealand Books in Print (ANZBiP)
Tips
Australian and New Zealand books in print.
Current
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian and New Zealand Books in Print, Publishers (ANZBiP-Publishers)
Tips
Australian and New Zealand publishers.
Current
Conditions of use
Informit
The Australian Chronicles : An Index to Sources of Australian Biography (CHRONICLES)
Tips
Biographical information. Australian.
1879 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian Criminology Database (CINCH)
Tips
Criminal law and justice. Australian.
1968 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB)
Tips
National parks; endangered species; coasts; forests; wetlands; rivers; geological features; wilderness areas; world heritage sites Australian.
1987 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian Historic Records Register (AHRR)
Tips
A list of paper-based historical records held in private hands in Australia.
1788 - 1988.
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian Industrial Relations Database (IREL)
Tips
Industrial conflict, wages and conditions, labour market economics, equal employment opportunity, labour law, occupational health and safety, workplace reform. Australian.
1983 - 2000
Conditions of use
Informit
Bibliography of Indonesian Politics and the Economy (BIPE)
Tips
Politics, government, economy, political culture and demography. Indonesia.
1965 - October 1998
Conditions of use
Informit .
A Chronology of Australian Historic & Current Events (AUSCHRON)
Tips
Current and historical events. Australian.
1992- plus historical material
Conditions of use
Informit .
Current Contents Connect
Tips
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International.
Conditions of use
ISI Web of Knowledge
Far North Queensland Collection (FNQ)
Tips
Indigenous issues, local history, environment, biography. Far North Queensland and Torres Strait.
Records up to 1999.
Conditions of use
Informit
Indian Biography Database (INDBIO)
Tips
Indian members of parliament
1977-96.
Conditions of use
Informit
Indigenous Australia
Tips
Indigenous studies material in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library.
1968 - current
Conditions of use
Informit
Infokoori
INFOKOORI is an index to the Koori Mail, a national fortnightly newspaper published for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Australian
1991 - present
State Library NSW
Infoquick
Indexing of Sydney Morning Herald
Australian
1988 - June 2005
State Library NSW
INTAN MAS
Tips
Eastern Indonesia and Australia's relations with South-East Asia, and with ASEAN.
1989 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN Database (BERITA)
Tips
General reference. Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, or South-East Asia as a whole and ASEAN.
1990 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Media Scan
Tips
Current events and news items. Australian focus.
1991 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Management and Environment Information (MEDGE)
Tips
Major corporations, international economy, Australian economy and government policy. Australian focus.
1985 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Media Scan
Tips
Current events and news items. Australian focus.
1991 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (MAIS)
Tips
Immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, multicultural education, migrant health, refugees and aboriginal studies. Australian.
1988 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Ozlife -Australian biography and book review index
Tips
Biography and book reviews. Australian.
National Library of Australia
Periodicals Index (PERIND)
Tips
Humanities, social sciences, business, management, building, architecture, city planning, law and medicine. Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN.
1980 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Philosopher's Index
Tips
Philosophy and related fields. International.
1940 - present
Conditions of use
Ovid.
ScienceDirect
Tips
Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International.
1995 - present, some earlier
Conditions of use
ScienceDirect website
Singapore/Malaysia Collection (SMC)
Tips
Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN.
Various dates depending on records
Conditions of use
Informit
The Source
Children's literature by subject. Australian emphasis
Magpies Magazine
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Tips
Periodicals and serials published throughout the world. International.
Current
Bowkers.
top of page
Print indexes
Title
Call Number Library has
ABC Pol Sci
C 016.32/5 1969 - 2000
Book Review Digest
C 016.028105/3 1905 - 2000
Book Review Index
C 016.028105/4 1974 -
British Humanities Index
C 016.00106/1 1965 - 2000
Essay & General Literature Index
C 016.00105/1 1900 - 2000
Historical Abstracts
C 016.905/1-3 1955 - 1970
Humanities Index
C 016.00105/3B 1964 - 2001
Language Teaching & Linguistics Abstracts
C 016.407/4 1968 - 1981
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
C 016.305/2 1915 - 2001
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
C 016.0505/3 1900-1998
top of page
Last reviewed: 26 June, 2008