Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
Databases for Commerce
and
Databases for Sydney Business School
- Databases to try first
- Other relevant databases
- Print indexes
- Additional databases for researchers
- Database passwords
- Database tips
- Company and industry databases guide (pdf)
| Databases to try first | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| ABI/Inform Global |
Tips |
Business, management, including accounting, taxation, banking, labor relations, marketing & advertising, human resources. International. Dates vary Also available: ABI/Inform Trade and Industry or ABI/Inform Dateline Proquest |
| Academic Research Library |
Tips |
General reference including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. International. Dates vary Proquest |
| Account |
Tips |
Accounting, auditing, taxation, insolvency, financial management, corporation law. Australian. 1982 - present Informit |
| Accounting and Tax |
Tips |
Accounting, auditing, and financial management. International. 1971 - present Proquest |
Annual Reports Online |
Tips |
Annual reports of all ASX listed and de-listed companies. Australian 1995 - present Aspect Huntley |
| Australian Accounting & Taxation Database (AATD) | This database is now called Account. Please find it under that name | |
| Australian Bureau of Statistics |
Tips |
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian. publications 1988 - present, with older time series This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website ABS website |
| Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT |
Tips |
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian. Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present Informit |
Business and Company ASAP |
Tips |
Companies, markets and industries; market trends, mergers and acquisitions, management theory and company overviews. International 1980 - present
Gale |
| Business Monitor Online |
Tips |
Country based industry reports, forecasts, alerts and analysis. Detailed economic, political and social coverage Business Monitor |
Business Source Premier ![]() |
Tips |
Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. EBSCOhost |
| Business Who's Who of Australia |
Tips |
Company information by specific industry, location, board members and other key personnel, parent and subsidiary companies,annual revenue, employee numbers, product trade names. Australian. Current Dun and Bradstreet webpage |
| Cambridge Journals Online |
Tips |
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities Cambridge journals website |
| Cambridge Scientific Abstracts | Tips |
Portal site for CSA databases, some technical engineering, some social sciences. CSA |
| Columbia International Affairs Online - CIAO |
Tips |
International affairs, comparative politics, area studies. International Dates vary CIAO website |
Conference Proceedings Citation Index ![]() |
Tips | Conference papers and citations. Choose Science or Social Science and Humanities 1991- present ![]() Conditions of use Thomson Reuters |
| Econlit |
Tips |
Economics. International 1969 - present Ovid |
| Emerald Fulltext |
Tips |
Management, economics, marketing, logistics, training and education. International Indexing 1989 fulltext 1994 - present Emerald website |
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
Tips |
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International. 1980 - present Gale InfoTrac |
| Factiva |
Tips |
Newspaper and company information Factiva Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh). The site uses secure http. The certificate on the Library's EZproxy server can cause an error. If you are warned about a security error and recommended not to proceed it is OK to do so in this instance. It is possible with IE browsers to turn off the warning about certificate mismatches but it can be a valid warning, so take this option with care. |
FinAnalysis |
Tips |
A 12-year history of detailed financial information for all companies listed on ASX.
Aspect Huntley |
General Business File |
Tips |
Company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available. International 1980 - present Gale |
| Hoover's Company Records |
Tips |
Company data and brief financial data, known as company capsules and profiles. Proquest |
| Informaworld |
Tips |
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International. |
| JSTOR |
Tips |
Archives of significant scholarly journals published in the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences, music, business, mathematics and statistics. JSTOR |
| Lexis.com |
Tips |
Legal resources. International law. Various dates Lexis |
| New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics |
Economics including the schools of economic theory, sub-disciplines and related areas |
|
OneSource Global Business Browser - G4 ![]() |
Tips |
Very extensive industry and company resource International, global not just Asia Pacific More information |
| Oxford Scholarship Online |
Tips |
Electronic Books from Oxford University Press. The Library subscribes to the Economics and Finance module. International. Various dates. Oxford |
| Oxresearch |
Tips |
A "first draft of history" as it occurs. Provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance 1986 - present Proquest |
| Proquest ANZ Newstand |
Tips |
Newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand covering regional and international topics Proquest. |
|
|
Tips |
Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International. Various dates Proquest. |
|
|
Tips |
Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. International SAGE Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform |
| ScienceDirect |
Tips |
Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International. 1995 - present, some earlier ScienceDirect website |
| Snapshot series |
Tips |
International market research overviews by industry within within regions and countries. Proquest |
| SourceOECD |
Tips |
OECD documents with emphasis on country comparison, periodicals, working papers, statistics, International Energy Agency statistics Source OECD Website |
| Springerlink |
Tips |
Journal of the publisher Springer-Verlag. International with strengths in Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy. Dates vary Springerlink |
Sydney Morning Herald Archives |
Full content of The Sydney morning Herald 1955 - 1990 Faifax Media Note: click on "Access archive" |
|
| Web of Knowledge |
Tips |
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web Dates vary for each database ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Web of Science |
Tips |
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Wiley Interscience |
Tips |
Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International. Dates vary according to title Wiley |
| World Development Indicators |
World Bank's comprehensive database on development data, covering more than 700 indicators, 208 economies, and 18 regional and income groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years. 1960 - present, where data are available
World Bank |
|
| Other relevant databases | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| AIM Management & Training (AIMMAT) |
Tips |
Management, training, human resources, communication and marketing. Australian. 1991 - present Informit |
| Attorney-General's Information Service (AGIS) Plus Text |
Tips |
Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law. Australian. Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present Informit |
| AUSTLII |
Tips |
Law, legislation and case law. Australia. Commonwealth and state jurisdictions plus New Zealand and South Pacific. Starting dates vary AustLII website. |
| Banking Information Source |
Tips |
Business, finance, government and law. International, North American focus. 1971 - present, fulltext may be later Proquest |
| CCH Online |
Tips |
Law. Fulltext access to UOW subscriptions only. Australian. Availability dates vary CCH website |
| CLIB2001, CLIB96 & CLIB91 |
Tips | Statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics. Stand alone CD ROM ask at Research Help. |
| Current Contents Connect |
Tips |
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International. ISI Web of Knowledge |
| ERIC |
Tips |
Education. International. 1966 - present Ovid |
| ERIC |
Tips |
Education. International. Dates vary
Proquest |
| Family and Society Plus |
Tips |
Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australia. Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present This is Family database with selected fulltext added Informit |
| Lexis.com |
Tips |
Legal resources. International law. Various dates Lexis |
| LexisNexis AU |
Tips |
Law including administrative, corporate, family, intellectual property,civil and industrial law. Australian. Current Recommended browser: IE LexisNexis AU |
| Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ ASEAN Database (BERITA) |
Tips |
General reference. Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, or South-East Asia as a whole and ASEAN. 1990 - present Informit |
| Media Scan |
Tips |
Current events and news items. Australian focus. 1991 - present Informit |
| NBER Working Papers |
Tips |
Economics and economic aspects of industrial relations, education, health and related subjects. International 1994 - present NBER |
| Philosopher's Index |
Tips |
Philosophy and related fields. International. 1940 - present Ovid. |
| Proquest Asian Business & Reference |
Tips |
Detailed information on companies, economies, markets and overall business conditions, news and current awareness, country information, cultural, government and biographical information relating to Asia. A greatly expanded resource Proquest |
| Proquest European Business |
Tips |
Regional European business news. 1986 - present Proquest. |
| ProQuest Social Science Journals |
Tips |
Periodicals covering the social sciences. Dates vary Proquest |
| Psycinfo 1806- , 1967- , 1985- |
Tips |
Psychology and related disciplines. International. 1806 - present Ovid |
| Safari Tech Books Online |
Tips |
Computing, networks, web, applications, security. books from several key publishers. Usually latest editions Safari Proquest |
| SCANfile |
Tips |
Science and technology policy, R&D management, social and economic issues of R&D. Australian focus. 1973 - present Informit |
| Sociological Abstracts |
Tips |
Sociology and related disciplines. International. 1952 - present Records after 1974 include abstracts CSA. |
Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Interruptions to UOW IT services (on & off campus)
Maintenance to UOW IT services is planned for Saturday 21 November, 6am – 6pm. On-campus, internet access to websites outside UOW, and access to UOW webpages from off-campus will be affected. More details...


