UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Library
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Databases for Creative Arts

 Databases to try first

fulltext icon  = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cr dom = CD ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link

Title

Tips

Notes

ABI/Inform Global partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Business, management, including accounting, taxation, banking, labor relations, marketing & advertising, human resources. International.

Dates vary

Also available: ABI/Inform Trade and Industry or ABI/Inform Dateline

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

Academic Research Library partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

General reference including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. International.

Dates vary

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

Asian Resources: A Select Directory of Databases (ASIANRES) Image

Tips

Information about selected Asia/Pacific related databases and services. Asian.

Current to 2001

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Art Abstracts (Wilson Art Abstracts) Image

Tips

Art. International.

1984 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid.

AustArt - Australian art journals index Image

Tips

Art and related subjects

Australian

AustArt website

AUSTLIT Image

Tips

Australian literature. Australian creative writing and Australian writers.

From 1880s, comprehensive from 1988 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Austlit website.

Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian.

Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

British Humanities Index

 

Print at R 016.00106/1

Cambridge Journals Online Image Image Tips

Sciences, social sciences, and humanities

Image

Conditions of use

Cambridge journals website

Current Contents Connect Image

Tips

Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International.

more information

Conditions of use

ISI Web of Knowledge

Duke University Press Image Image Tips

Humanities and social sciences journals. International

Dates vary, most from 2000 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Duke website

Expanded Academic ASAP partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International.

1980 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Gale InfoTrac

Factiva Image Image

Tips

Newspaper and company information

Image

Factiva

Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh).

Informaworld Image Image Tips

Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International.

Image

Conditions of use

International Encyclopedia of Communication ft new noquota   Communication Studies. Extended explorations of major topics, short definitions of key terms. Media, psychology and IT aspects of communication.

International

Blackwell

JSTOR Image Image Tips

Archives of significant scholarly journals published in the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences, music, business, mathematics and statistics.

Image

Conditions of use

JSTOR

Lexis.com Image Image

Tips

Legal resources. International law.

Various dates

more information

Lexis

MLA International Bibliography Image Tips

Literature, language, linguistics and folklore. International.

1926 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.

New York Review of Books Image Image Tips

Reviews of books and the arts, including music, theatre, dance and film and issues arising from them.

1963 - present

Image

NYRB website

Oxford Art Online fulltext icon Image

Tips

Art from all periods and areas. Art forms and cultures, movements artists and materials.

International

Conditions of use

Oxford

Oxford Music Online fulltext icon Image

Tips

All aspects of music including all regions styles and periods with a strength in classical western music

International

Conditions of use

Oxford

Oxford Reference Online fulltext icon  Image

Tips

General reference, arts, history, business, sciences languages. Fulltext of dictionaries and other reference books. International.

Various dates

more information

Conditions of use

Oxford.

Project Muse fulltext icon  Image

Tips

Literature & criticism, cultural studies, history, language, political science, film, theatre & performing arts, philosophy & religion. International.

Various dates

more information

Conditions of use

Project Muse website

Proquest 5000 partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International.

Various dates

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Image

Tips

Musicology & ethnomusicology, music theory, analysis & composition, instruments, performance practice & notation. International.

1969 - present

more information

Silverplatter Webspirs.

SAGE Journals Online    

 

Tips

 Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

International

SAGE

Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform

Sydney Morning Herald Archives     

Full content of The Sydney Morning Herald

1955 - 1990

Fairfax Media

Note: Click on "Access archive"

Web of Knowledge Image

Tips

Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web

Dates vary for each database

more information

Conditions of use

ISI Web of Knowledge

Web of Science Image

Tips

Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present

more information

Conditions of use

ISI Web of Knowledge

top of page

 Other relevant databases

fulltext icon  = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cr dom = CD ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link

Title

Tips

Notes

AIATSIS - Indigenous Studies Bibliography Image

Tips

Indigenous languages, cultures, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, arts, oral histories,history, legal issues. Australian.

1990 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Asian Resources: A Select Directory of Databases (ASIANRES) Image

Tips

Information about selected Asia/Pacific related databases and services. Asian.

Current to 2001

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

AUSTGUIDE Image

Tips

General and educational. Australian focus.

1986 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Australian Architecture Database (ARCH) Image

Tips

Architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture. Australian.

1980 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Australian Bureau of Statistics fulltext icon Image

Tips

Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian.

publications 1988 - present, with older time series

more information

This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website

ABS website

The Australian Chronicles: An Index to Sources of Australian Biography (CHRONICLES) Image

Tips

Biographical information. Australian.

1879 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB) Image

Tips

National parks; endangered species; coasts; forests; wetlands; rivers; geological features; wilderness areas; world heritage sites Australian.

1987 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Australian Historic Records Register (AHRR) Image

Tips

A list of paper-based historical records held in private hands in Australia.

1788 - 1988.

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

BERITA- Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN Database Image

Tips

General reference. Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, or South-East Asia as a whole and ASEAN.

1990 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit .

CLIB2001, CLIB96 & CLIB91 Image

Tips

Statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics. Stand alone CD ROM ask at Research Help.

Computer Database partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Computer related news and product reviews. International.

Current year to date plus previous three years

more information

Conditions of use

Gale InfoTrac.

Computer Index Australasia (CIA) Image

Tips

Popular computing. Australian.

1994 - 2001

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Consumer Sciences Index (CSI) Image

Tips

Consumer economics. Australian.

1988 - 2001

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Far North Queensland Collection (FNQ) Image

Tips

Indigenous issues, local history, environment, biography. Far North Queensland and Torres Strait.

Records up to 1999.

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Indigenous Australia Image

Tips

Indigenous studies material in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library.

1968 - current

Image

Conditions of use

Informit

INTAN MAS Image

Tips

Eastern Indonesia and Australia's relations with South-East Asia, and with ASEAN.

1989 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Media Scan Image

Tips

Current events and news items. Australian focus.

1991 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (MAIS) Image

Tips

Immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, multicultural education, migrant health, refugees and aboriginal studies. Australian.

1988 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

NUS Theses Collection (THESES) Image

Tips

Theses submitted to the University of Singapore (NUS)

1947 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Philosopher's Index Image

Tips

Philosophy and related fields. International.

1940 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid.

ProQuest Social Science Journals partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Periodicals covering the social sciences.

Dates vary

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

Singapore/Malaysia Collection (SMC) Image

Tips

Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN.

Various dates depending on records

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory Image

Tips

Periodicals and serials published throughout the world. International.

Current

more information

Bowkers.

top of page

 Print indexes

Title

Library has (call number)

Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature

C 016.82/21 1967 - 1999

British Humanities Index

C 016.00106/1 1965 - 2000

Humanities Index

C 01600105/3 1974 - 2001

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)

C 016.305/2 1915 - 2001

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

C 016.0505/3 1900-1998

top of page

 

 
   

Last reviewed: 26 June, 2008 

 
   
 
University of Wollongong
Library Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548
  CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback