Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
This navigation menu requires Javascript to activate.
If you cannot enable Javascript use the breadcrumbs to navigate this website.
Databases for Education
Database to try first
= fulltext = partial fulltext = CD ROM = new resource = more information = quota free if accessed by this link
Title
Tips
Notes
A + Education
Tips
Education and related fields, including curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training. Australian.
This is Australian Education Index with selected fulltext added
Fulltext 2000 - present Index 1978 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Academic Research Library
Tips
General reference including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. International.
Dates vary
Conditions of use
Proquest
ACM Digital Library
Tips
Computing, information technology, networking, artificial intelligence and human-machine interaction. International.
1985 - present
Conditions of use
ACM Portal
AEI-ATSIS
Tips
Education and training relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Subset of AEI. Australian.
1979 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
AEI - Database of Research on International Education
Tips
AEI's searchable web database of research relevant to international education.
Australian Education International Website
AustEdOnline
Tips
This database links to journal articles and other documents about Australian and overseas education research.
ACER Cunningham Library
Australian Education Index
RC 016.3705/1 1959-1979
Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT
Tips
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian.
Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
British Education Index
R+RC 016.3705/5 Print 1954+
British Education Index
Tips
Indexes over 300 UK education and training journals which supports educational research.
It presents information which does not yet appear in the subscription services and the content changes regularly. (For subscription service, search catalogue for British Education Index). British
Current
British Education Index
Cambridge Journals Online
Tips
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities
Conditions of use
Cambridge journals website
Career and Technical Education
Tips
Vocational and technical periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum.
1991 - present
Conditions of use
Proquest
CBCA Education
Tips
Canadian information in the field of education. Teaching, educational research, and educational administration in Canada.
Dates vary, some back to 1970s
Conditions of use
Proquest
DELTAA
Tips
English second language study and teaching. Australian.
1985 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Ed/ITLib Digital Library
Formerly the AACE Digital Library
Tips
Educational technology and elearning.
Dates vary
Conditions of use
ED/ITLib Digital Library website
EDNA (Education Network Australia)
Resource collection and collaborative network for the education and training community.
Australian
This is a freely available site but please be aware of the conditions of use
EDNA website
Educat ion-line
Tips
A freely accessible database of the full text of conference papers, working papers and electronic literature that supports educational research, policy and practice.British
Commenced 1997
Education-line.
Education Research Theses (ERT) Database
Tips
Education theses
Australian
ACER Cunningham Library
Emerald Fulltext
Tips
Management, economics, marketing, logistics, training and education. International
Indexing 1989 fulltext 1994 - present
Conditions of use
Emerald website
ERIC
Tips
Education. International.
1966 - present
Conditions of use
Ovid
ERIC
Tips
Education. International.
Dates vary
Conditions of use
Proquest
ERIC - Education Resources Information Service
Tips
Education. International
1966 to present
IES
Expanded Academic ASAP
Tips
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International.
1980 - present
Conditions of use
Gale InfoTrac
Factiva
Tips
Newspaper and company information
Factiva
Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh).
Informaworld
Tips
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International.
Conditions of use
JSTOR
Tips
Archives of significant scholarly journals published in the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences, music, business, mathematics and statistics.
Conditions of use
JSTOR
MLA International Bibliography
Tips
Literature, language, linguistics and folklore. International.
1926 - present
Conditions of use
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Proquest Education Journals
Tips
Leading full-text journals in education and related fields.
1988 - present
Conditions of use
Proquest.
Sage Journals Online
Tips
Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. International
SAGE
Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform
The Source
Children's literature by subject. Australian emphasis
Magpies Magazine
SourceOECD
Tips
OECD documents with emphasis on country comparison, periodicals, working papers, statistics, International Energy Agency statistics
Conditions of use
Source OECD Website
ultiBASE
Tips
Tertiary teaching and learning. Information regarding practice, issues, resources and research into tertiary teaching.
Australian
UltiBASE, RMIT
Web of Knowledge
Tips
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web
Dates vary for each database
Conditions of use
ISI Web of Knowledge
Web of Science
Tips
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
1975 - present
Conditions of use
ISI Web of Knowledge
top of page
Other relevant databases
= fulltext = partial fulltext = CD ROM = new resource = more information = quota free if accessed by this link
Title
Tips
Notes
AIM Management & Training (AIMMAT)
Tips
Management, training, human resources, communication and marketing. Australian.
1991 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Art Abstracts (Wilson Art Abstracts)
Tips
Art. International.
1984 - present
Conditions of use
Ovid.
Attorney-General's Information Service (AGIS) Plus Text
Tips
Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law. Australian.
Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
AUSTGUIDE
Tips
General and educational. Australian focus.
1986 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
AUSTLII
Tips
Law, legislation and case law. Australia. Commonwealth and state jurisdictions plus New Zealand and South Pacific.
Starting dates vary
Conditions of use
AustLII website.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Tips
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian.
publications 1988 - present, with older time series
This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website
ABS website
Australian Criminology Database (CINCH)
Tips
Criminal law and justice. Australian.
1968 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian Sport Database (AUSPORT)
Tips
Australian sport including administration, children, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology. Australian.
1989 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
CINCH-ATSIS
Tips
Involvement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the justice system. Subset of Cinch. Australian.
1968 - present
Conditions of use
Informit .
CLIB2001, CLIB96 & CLIB91
Tips
Statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics. Stand alone CD ROM ask at Research Help.
Computer Database
Tips
Computer related news and product reviews. International.
Current year to date plus previous three years
Conditions of use
Gale InfoTrac.
Consumer Sciences Index (CSI)
Tips
Consumer economics. Australian.
1988 - 2001
Conditions of use
Informit
Current Contents Connect
Tips
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International.
Conditions of use
ISI Web of Knowledge
Drug Database (DRUG)
Tips
Substance abuse. Australian.
1974 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Family-ATSIS
Tips
Issues about, or of relevance to families with reference to Aborigines or Torres Strait Islanders. Subset of Family Australia.
1980 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Family and Society Plus
Tips
Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australia.
Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present
This is Family database with selected fulltext added
Conditions of use
Informit
Health & Society Database (H&S)
Tips
Health policy services and issues. Australian. Subset of Family.
1980 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Indigenous Studies Bibliography (AIATSIS)
Tips
Australian Indigenous studies
1990 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ ASEAN Database (BERITA)
Tips
General reference. Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, or South-East Asia as a whole and ASEAN.
1990 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (MAIS)
Tips
Immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, multicultural education, migrant health, refugees and aboriginal studies. Australian.
1988 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
OMN Training Resources Database (OMN) Distributors
Tips
Distributors of training resources available in Australia. Australian.
1966 - 2000
Conditions of use
Informit
ProQuest Science Journals
Tips
Science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
1994 - present
Conditions of use
Proquest.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
Tips
Periodicals covering the social sciences.
Dates vary
Conditions of use
Proquest
Psycinfo 1806- , 1967- , 1985-
Tips
Psychology and related disciplines. International.
1806 - present
Conditions of use
Ovid
Sage - Science and geography education
Tips
Science and more general information. Australian focus
Mid 1980s - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Sociological Abstracts
Tips
Sociology and related disciplines. International.
1952 - present Records after 1974 include abstracts
Conditions of use
CSA.
SportsDiscus
Tips
Sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness. International.
1800 - present
EbscoHOST
top of page
Print indexes
Title
Library has (call number)
Australian Education Index
C 016.3705/1 1959-1979
British Education Index
C 016.3705/5 1954 - 2005
Book Review Digest
C 016.028105/3 1905 - 2000
Educational Administration Abstracts
C 016.3712/1 1981-1993
Language Teaching
C 016.407/4 1982 - 2002
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
C 016.305/2 1915 - 2001
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
C 016.0505/3 1900-1998
top of page
Last reviewed: 26 June, 2008