Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
Databases for Engineering
- Databases to try first
- Other relevant databases
- Print indexes
- Additional databases for researchers
- Database passwords
- Database tips
| Databases to try first | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| Advanced Polymers Abstracts |
Tips |
Technical information about the uses, manufacturing, and properties of thermoset and thermoplastic resins. a subset of Engineered Materials Abstracts database
|
| Aluminium Industry Abstracts |
Tips |
Aluminium, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. 1972 - present CSA |
| Annual Reviews |
Tips |
Sciences and social sciences Annual reviews |
| ASCE Journals |
Tips |
Civil engineering. International. 1995 - present ASCE website |
| Cambridge Journals Online |
Tips |
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities Cambridge journals website |
| Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts |
Tips |
Manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. International 1975 - present CSA |
| Chem Alert |
Tips |
Chemical hazards, safety, toxicology Current |
| CHEMnetBASE |
Tips |
Chemistry dictionaries and handbooks International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Compendex |
Tips |
Engineering and technology. International. 1969 - present Engineering Village website |
Composites Industry Abstracts ![]() |
Tips |
Polymers and ceramics reinforced with fibers, honeycombs, whiskers and laminates a subset of Engineered Materials Abstracts database CSA |
Conference Proceedings Citation Index ![]() |
Tips | Conference papers and citations. Choose Science or Social Science and Humanities 1991- present ![]() Conditions of use Thomson Reuters |
| Copper Technical Reference Library |
Tips |
Copper, copper alloys and copper technology. International 1965 - present CSA |
| Corrosion Abstracts |
Tips |
Corrosion science and engineering. International CSA |
| CSIRO Online |
Tips |
Scientific research. Fulltext access to UOW subscriptions only. Australian. 1997 - present CSIRO website. |
| Current Contents Connect |
Tips |
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International. ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Directory of Open access Journals |
Tips |
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. DOAJ site |
| Encyclopedia of Materials |
Tips |
Material science. International. Published 2001 with continual updates ScienceDirect |
| Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology |
Tips |
All aspects of nanoscale science and technology dealing. Published 2004 American Scientific Publishers, accessed on IngentaSelect |
| ENGINE |
Tips |
All branches of engineering. Australian. 1980 - present Informit |
| Engineered Materials Abstracts |
Tips |
Polymers, ceramics, and composites in structural and other advanced applications. International 1986 - present CSA |
Engineering Village ![]() |
Tips |
Engineering and technology, International 1969 - present
Library has Compendex on this platform Engineering Village website |
| ENVIROnetBASE |
Tips |
Environmental science and engineering e-books CRCnetBASE Suggested browser Netscape or Mozilla. The site also suggests IE but problems have been encountered with this browser from campus |
|
Georef 1785 - Georef 2002 - |
Tips |
Geosciences. North American until 1933 then international. 1785 - present Ovid. |
| Handbook of Chemistry and Physics |
Tips |
Scientific data for chemistry and physics. International. 83rd ed. 2003 Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| HighWirePress |
Tips |
Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences. International Archive site, dates vary, latest issues usually embargoed. Stanford U. P. |
| IEEExplore |
Tips |
Electrical and electronic engineering. International. 1988 - present IEEExplore website |
| Informaworld |
Tips |
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International. |
| Inspec |
Tips |
Physics, electrical engineering, electronics,communications, information technology. International. 1969 - present Ovid |
Institute of Physics - Journals |
Physics and its subdisciplines, such as quantum physics, superconductors, semiconductors, nanotechnology and astrophysics and nuclear physics. First volumes to present IOP website |
|
| Materials Business File |
Tips |
Industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. International 1985- present CSA |
| Materials Research Database |
Tips |
Materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. International 1966 - present CSA |
| Metadex |
Tips |
Metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. International. 1966 - present Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. |
| Mineralogical Abstracts (Minabs Online) |
Tips |
Mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental mineralogy. International. 1982 - present Mineralogical Society |
| Polymers: A Property Database |
Tips |
Physical properties of polymers, scientific and trade information. International Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Proquest Central |
Tips |
Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International. Various dates Proquest.
|
| SAI Global |
Tips |
Standards of Standards Australia plus index to standards of other bodies. Australian. Current and draft standards. International standards may be unlocked and made available. Preferred browser Internet Explorer SAI global website. |
| ScienceDirect |
Tips |
Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International. 1995 - present, some earlier ScienceDirect website |
|
SciFinder Scholar / Chemical Abstracts Web version access (once you have registered) |
Tips |
Chemistry and many other science and technology applications. International. 1907 - present Now available, Scifinder Scholar Web version. Please email ngrant@uow.edu.au for registration details. The link previously here has been removed temporarily. Please accept our apologies Note: Web version uses secure http. This can cause security certificate warnings when using IE because the University's generic security certificate can appear as a mismatch with the EZproxy server. It is OK to use the link that states "Continue to this website (not recommended)." Users who are using an IE browser will be able to get ready access if they uncheck the option to "Warn about certificate address mismatch". This warning is designed to alert users that the security certificate presented by this website was issued for a different website’s address. In this instance, it is because the University uses generic security certificates so they do not exactly match the servers the traffic is coming from and so cause the error message. Go into: Tools->Internet Options->Advanced->”Warn about certificate address mismatch” uncheck the box and restart your browser. You might like to revert to having the warning once you have finished using Scifinder Scholar. When using reaction or substance search problems will be encountered if you do not have the Java 6 installed. More information about browsers and Java requirements CAS Website |
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater |
All aspects of water and wastewater analysis techniques. Latest edition
Standard Methods website |
|
| Springerlink |
Tips |
Journal of the publisher Springer-Verlag. International with strengths in Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy. Dates vary Springerlink |
| Web of Knowledge |
Tips |
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web Dates vary for each database ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Web of Science |
Tips |
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Weldasearch |
Tips |
Welding and allied processes 1967 - present International CSA |
| Wiley Interscience |
Tips |
Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International. Dates vary according to title Wiley |
| Other relevant databases | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| Australian Architecture Database (ARCH) |
Tips |
Architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture. Australian. 1980 - present Informit |
| Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Information (ANSTI) |
Tips |
Nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications. Australian. 1970 - present Informit |
| Australian Transport Index (ATRI) |
Tips |
Road safety, transport economics, transport administration, i public transport, road and airfield pavements, road design and engineering, traffic engineering and control, vehicle design and safety. Australian. 1976 - present Informit |
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
Tips |
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International. 1980 - present Gale InfoTrac |
| Factiva |
Tips |
Newspaper and company information Factiva Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh). The site uses secure http. The certificate on the Library's EZproxy server can cause an error. If you are warned about a security error and recommended not to proceed it is OK to do so in this instance. It is possible with IE browsers to turn off the warning about certificate mismatches but it can be a valid warning, so take this option with care. |
| SCANfile |
Tips |
Science and technology policy, R&D management, social and economic issues of R&D. Australian focus. 1973 - present Informit |
Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Interruptions to UOW IT services (on & off campus)
Maintenance to UOW IT services is planned for Saturday 21 November, 6am – 6pm. On-campus, internet access to websites outside UOW, and access to UOW webpages from off-campus will be affected. More details...



