Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
This navigation menu requires Javascript to activate.
If you cannot enable Javascript use the breadcrumbs to navigate this website.
Databases for Law
Databases to try first
= fulltext = partial fulltext = CD ROM = new resource = more information = quota free if accessed by this link
Title
Tips
Notes
Academic Onefile
Tips
The physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. International
1980 - present
Conditions of use
Gale
AGIS Plus Text
Tips
Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law. Australian.
Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
AUSTLII
Tips
Law, legislation and case law. Australia. Commonwealth and state jurisdictions plus New Zealand and South Pacific.
Starting dates vary
Conditions of use
AustLII website.
Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT
Tips
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian.
Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Cambridge Journals Online
Tips
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities
Conditions of use
Cambridge journals website
CCH Online
Tips
Law. Fulltext access to UOW subscriptions only. Australian.
Availability dates vary
Conditions of use
CCH website
CINCH
Tips
Criminal law and justice. Australian.
1968 - present
Conditions of use
Informit.
Comlaw
Tips
Australian Federal legislation. Acts, bills, regulations etc. Australian
Includes repealed and current legislation.
This site will be replacing Scaleplus
Attorney-General's Department website
Expanded Academic ASAP
Tips
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International.
1980 - present
Conditions of use
Gale InfoTrac
Federal Law Review
Tips
Academic law journal
Australian
Password required
Also available on Hein Online, with embargo and AGIS
HeinOnline
Tips
Law journals and reports, U.S. focus
Archive collection, from first publication date
Conditions of use
Hein
Index to Legal Periodicals
Tips
Law journal literature.
1978 - current
Included in LexisNexis
Law Institute Journal
Law Institute web page
Password required - authenticate through member login
Law Society Journal
Law Society of NSW Web Page
Password required - password does not provide full member access
Lawbook Online
Tips
Case law and commentary. Australian.
Availability dates vary
Recommended browser: IE
LawbookCo.com
LAWLEX
Tips
Law, Hansard, bills explanatory memoranda. Australia.
Dates vary
Lawlex
Legal Resource Index
Tips
Law. International
1977- present
Included in LexisNexis
LegalTrac
Tips
Major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
1980 - present
Conditions of use
Gale
Lexis.com
Tips
Legal resources. International law.
Various dates
Lexis
LexisNexis AU
Tips
Law including administrative, corporate, family, intellectual property,civil and industrial law. Australian.
Current
Recommended browser: IE
Conditions of use
LexisNexis AU
NSW Legislation
Tips
NSW legislation in force, both Acts and statutory instruments
Historical versions of NSW legislation, from 1 January 2002, and earlier versions of selected titles
An archival collection of NSW legislation as made since 1990-the As Made database
Proquest 5000
Tips
Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International.
Various dates
Conditions of use
Proquest.
Web of Knowledge
Tips
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web
Dates vary for each database
Conditions of use
ISI Web of Knowledge
Web of Science
Tips
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present
Conditions of use
ISI Web of Knowledge
Westlaw
Tips
Law. Case law, legislation, regulations
International
If popup message appears, click continue
Conditions of use
Westlaw
top of page
Other relevant databases
= fulltext = partial fulltext = CD ROM = new resource = more information = quota free if accessed by this link
Title
Tips
Notes
AIM Management & Training (AIMMAT)
Tips
Management, training, human resources, communication and marketing. Australian.
1991 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian Accounting & Taxation Database (AATD)
Tips
Accounting, auditing, taxation, insolvency, financial management, corporation law. Australian.
1982 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Tips
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian.
publications 1988 - present, with older time series
This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website
ABS website
Australian Criminology Database (CINCH)
Tips
Criminal law and justice. Australian.
1968 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian Federal Police Digest (AFPD)
Tips
Policing, criminology, law enforcement, law. Australian.
1991 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Australian Industrial Relations Database (IREL)
Tips
Industrial conflict, wages and conditions, labour market economics, equal employment opportunity, labour law, occupational health and safety, workplace reform. Australian.
1983 - 2000
Conditions of use
Informit
CINCH-ATSIS
Tips
Involvement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the justice system. Subset of Cinch. Australian.
1968 - present
Conditions of use
Informit .
Computer Database
Tips
Computer related news and product reviews. International.
Current year to date plus previous three years
Conditions of use
Gale InfoTrac.
Current Contents Connect
Tips
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International.
Conditions of use
ISI Web of Knowledge
Factiva
Tips
Newspaper and company information
Factiva
Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh).
Family and Society Plus
Tips
Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australia.
Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present
This is Family database with selected fulltext added
Conditions of use
Informit
Giblin Working Papers Database (GIBLIN)
Tips
Working papers in economics, finance, accounting, banking, international trade, management, marketing and employee relations.Mainly Australia, Europe and the U.S.A.
Current five years
Conditions of use
Informit
Informaworld
Tips
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International.
Conditions of use
International Taxation Issues Database (INTAX)
Tips
International aspects of taxation. Australian focus.
1990 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Management and Environment Information (MEDGE)
Tips
Major corporations, international economy, Australian economy and government policy. Australian focus.
1985 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Oxford Online Journals
Tips
Sciences, social sciences and humanities
Conditions of use
Oxford
Philosopher's Index
Tips
Philosophy and related fields. International.
1940 - present
Conditions of use
Ovid.
SCANfile
Tips
Science and technology policy, R&D management, social and economic issues of R&D. Australian focus.
1973 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
ScienceDirect
Tips
Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International.
1995 - present, some earlier
Conditions of use
ScienceDirect website
Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource (Sniper)
Tips
Intellectual property
Australian
2000 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Sociological Abstracts
Tips
Sociology and related disciplines. International.
1963 - present Records after 1974 include abstracts
Conditions of use
CSA.
TAXABS
Tips
Tax technical information, including accounting, auditing, business, capital gains tax, fringe benefits tax, goods and services tax, international tax, law, superannuation, taxation rulings and tax administration. Australian.
1992 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Victorian Audit Library Information Service Database (VALISE)
Tips
Auditing; internal auditing; public finance; public administration; selected articles on business, politics and economic conditions as they relate to public affairs. Australian.
1988 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
Wiley Interscience
Tips
Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International.
Dates vary according to title
Conditions of use
Wiley
WORKLIT
Tips
Labour economics, policy and legislation, workplace reform, employment. Australian.
1907 - present
Conditions of use
Informit
top of page
Print indexes
Title
Library has (call number)
Accounting and Tax Index
R 016.65705/1 1986+
Business Periodicals Index
R 016.3705/1
Current Law Index
REF/K/91/CUR 1980+
Index to Legal Periodicals
REF/K/91/IND
It's New / What's New
R 016.0505/8 1973+
New York Times
Microform N/071/1
PAIS
R 016.305/2 1915+
Wilson Business Abstracts
R 016.6505/1 1958+
top of page
Last reviewed: 26 June, 2008