Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
Databases for Science
- Databases to try first
- Other relevant databases
- Print indexes
- Additional databases for researchers
- Database passwords
- Database tips
| Databases to try first | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| ACM Digital Library |
Tips |
Computing, information technology, networking, artificial intelligence and human-machine interaction. International. 1985 - present ACM Portal |
| American Chemical Society Publications |
Tips |
Chemistry and related areas, such as toxicology and chemical engineering. International. First issues - present Terms and Conditions (pdf) ACS website |
| American Geophysical Union Digital Library | Geophysics Archive access only, up to 2002, except where Library has a current subscription AGU website |
|
American Institute of Physics Journals ![]() |
Current and archive content on this site AIP website. AIP is a society of several societies in the physical sciences area |
|
American Physical Society Journals |
Current and archive content to journals of this publisher APS Website |
|
| Analytical Abstracts online (Analytical WebBase) |
Analytical chemistry 1980 - present RSC website |
|
| Annual Reviews |
Tips |
Sciences and social sciences Annual reviews |
| Attorney-General's Information Service (AGIS) Plus Text |
Tips |
Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law. Australian. Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present Informit |
| AUSTLII |
Tips |
Law, legislation and case law. Australia. Commonwealth and state jurisdictions plus New Zealand and South Pacific. Starting dates vary AustLII website. |
| Australian Bureau of Statistics |
Tips |
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian. publications 1988 - present, with older time series This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website ABS website |
| Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB) |
Tips |
National parks; endangered species; coasts; forests; wetlands; rivers; geological features; wilderness areas; world heritage sites Australian. 1987 - present Informit |
| Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT |
Tips |
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian. Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present Informit |
| Biological Abstracts |
Tips |
Biological and medical research. Clinical studies, new organisms. agriculture biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International. 1969- 2003 Access to later material is available through Biosis Previews Ovid |
| Biosis Previews |
Tips |
Biological and medical research. Clinical studies, new organisms. agriculture biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International. 2002 - Access to earlier material is through Biological Abstracts Ovid |
| Cambridge Journals Online |
Tips |
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities Cambridge journals website |
| Catalysts & Catalysed Reactions |
Graphical abstracts of new developments in catalysis. International 2002 - present Royal Society of Chemistry |
|
| Chem Alert |
Tips |
Chemical hazards, safety, toxicology Current
|
| CHEMnetBASE |
Tips |
Chemistry dictionaries and handbooks International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| CLIB2001, CLIB96 & CLIB91 |
Tips | Statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics. Stand alone CD ROM ask at Research Help. |
| Combined Chemical Dictionary |
Tips |
Chemical substances, properties of compounds. International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations |
Tips |
Chemical transformations, organic synthesis, functional groups Up to 1995 ScienceDirect |
| Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations II |
Tips |
Chemical transformations, organic synthesis, functional groups 1995 - 2005 ScienceDirect |
Conference Proceedings Citation Index ![]() |
Tips | Conference papers and citations. Choose Science or Social Science and Humanities 1991- present ![]() Conditions of use |
| CSIRO Online |
Tips |
Scientific research. Fulltext access to UOW subscriptions only. Australian. 1997 - present CSIRO website. |
| Current Contents Connect |
Tips |
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International. ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds |
Tips |
25,000 most commonly cited compounds in Chemical Abstracts. International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Dictionary of Drugs |
Tips |
Drugs and pharmacological agents. International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club |
Tips |
Evidence- based medicine. International. 1991 - present Ovid |
| EBM Reviews - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, trials. International. Not date limited
Ovid |
| EBM Reviews - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. 1991 - present Ovid. |
| EBM Reviews - Dare |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. Date is latest update for whole database Ovid |
Encyclopedia of Archaeology |
Tips |
The nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. International ScienceDirect |
| Encyclopedia of Life Sciences |
Tips |
Biochemistry, biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, history of life sciences. International. Published 2001 with continual updates Wiley |
| Encyclopedia of Materials |
Tips |
Material science. International. Published 2001 with continual updates ScienceDirect |
| Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology |
Tips |
All aspects of nanoscale science and technology dealing. Published 2004 American Scientific Publishers, accessed on IngentaSelect |
| ENVIROnetBASE |
Tips |
Environmental science and engineering e-books CRCnetBASE Suggested browser Netscape or Mozilla. The site also suggests IE but problems have been encountered with this browser from campus |
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
Tips |
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International. 1980 - present Gale InfoTrac |
|
Georef 1785 - Georef 2002 - |
Tips |
Geosciences. North American until 1933 then international. 1785 - present Ovid. |
| Handbook of Chemistry and Physics |
Tips |
Scientific data for chemistry and physics. International. 83rd ed. 2003 Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| HighWirePress |
Tips |
Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences. International Archive site, dates vary, latest issues usually embargoed. Stanford U. P. |
| IEEExplore |
Tips |
Electrical and electronic engineering. International. 1988 - present IEEExplore website |
| Informaworld |
Tips |
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International. |
Institute of Physics - Journals |
Physics and its subdisciplines, such as quantum physics, superconductors, semiconductors, nanotechnology and astrophysics and nuclear physics. First volumes to present IOP website |
|
| Lexis.com |
Tips |
Legal resources. International law. Various dates Lexis |
|
Premedline - In-process records
|
Tips |
Medicine. Anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology and health care. International. 1950 - present, in several files Ovid |
| Mineralogical Abstracts (Minabs Online) |
Tips |
Mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental mineralogy. International. 1982 - present Mineralogical Society |
| Natural Product Updates |
Developments in natural product chemistry International 1999 - present Royal Society of Chemistry |
|
| Nature Journals Online |
Tips
|
Science research. International Nature Publishing Group Please consult the Info link for subscribed titles and their links. Individual titles also listed in the Library catalogue |
Optics Encyclopedia |
Tips |
Classical optics plus latest applications, including optical sensing and metrology, biomedicine, optical components and systems International
Wiley |
| Polymers: A Property Database |
Tips |
Physical properties of polymers, scientific and trade information. International Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Properties of Organic Compounds |
Tips |
Organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures. International. Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Proquest Central |
Tips |
Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International. Various dates Proquest.
|
| Royal Society of Chemistry |
Tips |
Chemistry. International All issues of the available titles Possible to restrict to the archive or later years Royal Society of Chemistry |
Sage Journals Online ![]() |
Tips |
Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. International SAGE Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform |
| SAI Global |
Tips |
Standards of Standards Australia plus index to standards of other bodies. Australian. Current and draft standards. International standards may be unlocked and made available. Preferred browser Internet Explorer Standards Australia website. |
| Science & Technology Proceedings on ISI Proceedings |
Tips |
Index to significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a range of science and technology disciplines. Subset of ISI Proceedings, select when logged on International 2002- present Thomson Scientific (ISI) |
| ScienceDirect |
Tips |
Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International. 1995 - present, some earlier ScienceDirect website |
|
SciFinder Scholar / Chemical Abstracts Web version access (once you have registered) |
Tips |
Chemistry and many other science and technology applications. International. 1907 - present Now available, Scifinder Scholar Web version. Please email ngrant@uow.edu.au for registration details. The link previously here has been removed temporarily. Please accept our apologies Note: Web version uses secure http. This can cause security certificate warnings when using IE because the University's generic security certificate can appear as a mismatch with the EZproxy server. It is OK to use the link that states "Continue to this website (not recommended)." Users who are using an IE browser will be able to get ready access if they uncheck the option to "Warn about certificate address mismatch". This warning is designed to alert users that the security certificate presented by this website was issued for a different website’s address. In this instance, it is because the University uses generic security certificates so they do not exactly match the servers the traffic is coming from and so cause the error message. Go into: Tools->Internet Options->Advanced->”Warn about certificate address mismatch” uncheck the box and restart your browser. You might like to revert to having the warning once you have finished using Scifinder Scholar. When using reaction or substance search problems will be encountered if you do not have the Java 6 installed. More information about browsers and Java requirements CAS Website
|
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater |
All aspects of water and wastewater analysis techniques. Latest edition
Standard Methods website |
|
| Springerlink |
Tips |
Journal of the publisher Springer-Verlag. International with strengths in Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy. Dates vary Springerlink |
| Treatise on Geochemistry |
Tips |
Geochemistry ScienceDirect website |
| Web of Knowledge |
Tips |
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web Dates vary for each database ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Web of Science |
Tips |
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Wiley Interscience |
Tips |
Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International. Dates vary according to title Wiley |
| Other relevant databases | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
|
Agriculture and Natural Resources Index (ANR-Index)
|
Tips |
Agriculture and natural resources including sustainable agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries, water and natural resources. Australian 2000 - present Informit [formerly ABOA and STREAMLINE] |
| Agriculture and Natural Resources Index - Archive |
Tips |
Agriculture and natural resources including sustainable agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries, water and natural resources. Australian 1975 - 2000 Informit [formerly ABOA and STREAMLINE] |
| Agriculture and Natural Resources Research (ANR-Research) |
Tips |
Current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries, water and natural resources. Australian Research in progress Informit [formerly ARRIP] |
| Agriculture and Natural Resources Research - Archive |
Tips |
Completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries, water and natural resources. Australian 1984 - present, updated twice per year Informit [formerly CARRP] |
| APEC Literature Database (APECLIT) |
Tips |
Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) and related topics. Asia and Pacific. 1990 approx. - present Informit |
| AUSTGUIDE |
Tips |
General and educational. Australian focus. 1986 - present Informit |
| Australian Architecture Database (ARCH) |
Tips |
Architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture. Australian. 1980 - present Informit |
| Australian Criminology Database (CINCH) |
Tips |
Criminal law and justice. Australian. 1968 - present Informit |
| Australian Historic Records Register (AHRR) |
Tips |
A list of paper-based historical records held in private hands in Australia. 1788 - 1988. Informit |
| Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Information (ANSTI) |
Tips |
Nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications. Australian. 1970 - present Informit |
| Australian Tourism Index (ATI) |
Tips |
Leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and travel. Australian. 1982 - 2000 Informit |
| Bibliography of Indonesian Politics and the Economy (BIPE) |
Tips |
Politics, government, economy, political culture and demography. Indonesia. 1965 - October 1998 Informit . |
| CHemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography (CHERUB) |
Tips |
Chemical engineering. Australian. 1956 - present Informit. |
| A Chronology of Australian Historic & Current Events (AUSCHRON) |
Tips |
Current and historical events. Australian. 1992- plus historical material Informit. |
| Compendex |
Tips |
Engineering and technology. International. 1969 - present Engineering Village website |
| Consumer Sciences Index (CSI) |
Tips |
Consumer economics. Australian. 1988 - 2001 Informit |
| Dictionary of Natural Products |
Tips |
Naturally occuring chemicals. International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| EDGE |
Tips |
Management, environmental, packaging and building. Australian. 1985 - present Informit |
| Elixir |
Tips |
Agriculture, mineral resources, conservation and land management. Australian 1990 - present Informit |
| Endanger |
Tips |
Threatened flora and fauna. Australian. 1960 - present Informit |
| ENGINE |
Tips |
All branches of engineering. Australian. 1980 - present Informit |
| EVA - Environmental Abstracts |
Tips |
Environment Informit |
| Factiva |
Tips |
Newspaper and company information Factiva Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh). The site uses secure http. The certificate on the Library's EZproxy server can cause an error. If you are warned about a security error and recommended not to proceed it is OK to do so in this instance. It is possible with IE browsers to turn off the warning about certificate mismatches but it can be a valid warning, so take this option with care. |
| Family and Society Plus |
Tips |
Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australia. Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present This is Family database with selected fulltext added Informit |
| Far North Queensland Collection (FNQ) |
Tips |
Indigenous issues, local history, environment, biography. Far North Queensland and Torres Strait. Records up to 1999. Informit |
| Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database (REEF) |
Tips |
Great Barrier Reef and the activities associated with the Marine Park. 1982 - present Informit |
| Health & Society Database (H&S) |
Tips |
Health policy services and issues. Australian. Subset of Family. 1980 - present Informit |
| Health Reference Center - Academic |
Tips |
Health information for nursing, public health, nutrition, psychology. International. Current year plus previous four years Gale InfoTrac |
| Indigenous Studies Bibliography (AIATSIS) |
Tips |
Australian Indigenous studies. 1990 - present Informit |
| IngentaConnect |
Tips |
A comprehensive collection of academic and professional research articles online. Fulltext is available to titles subscribed to by the Library. Other fulltext may be purchased International Various dates Ingenta. |
| Inspec |
Tips |
Physics, electrical engineering, electronics,communications, information technology. International. 1969 - present Ovid |
| IREL |
Tips |
Industrial conflict, wages and conditions, labour market economics, equal employment opportunity, labour law, occupational health and safety, workplace reform. Australian. 1983 - 2000 Informit |
| Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN Database (BERITA) |
Tips |
General reference. Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, or South-East Asia as a whole and ASEAN. 1990 - present Informit |
| Management and Environment Information (MEDGE) |
Tips |
Major corporations, international economy, Australian economy and government policy. Australian focus. 1985 - present Informit |
| Media Scan |
Tips |
Current events and news items. Australian focus. 1991 - present Informit |
| Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (MAIS) |
Tips |
Immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, multicultural education, migrant health, refugees and aboriginal studies. Australian. 1988 - present Informit |
| Philosopher's Index |
Tips |
Philosophy and related fields. International. 1940 - present Ovid. |
| Rural and Remote Health Database (RURAL) |
Tips |
Rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers Australian 1966 - present Informit |
| Sage - Science and geography education |
Tips |
Science and more general information. Australian focus Mid 1980s - present Informit |
| Safari Tech Books Online |
Tips |
Computing, networks, web, applications, security. books from several key publishers. Usually latest editions Safari Proquest |
| SCANfile |
Tips |
Science and technology policy, R&D management, social and economic issues of R&D. Australian focus. 1973 - present Informit |
| Sociological Abstracts |
Tips |
Sociology and related disciplines. International. 1963 - present Records after 1974 include abstracts CSA. |
| Springerlink |
Tips |
Journal of the publisher Springer-Verlag. International with strengths in Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy. Dates vary Springerlink |
Content by: Electronic Services Librarian
su
Interruptions to UOW IT services (on & off campus)
Maintenance to UOW IT services is planned for Saturday 21 November, 6am – 6pm. On-campus, internet access to websites outside UOW, and access to UOW webpages from off-campus will be affected. More details...



