UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Library
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Databases for Wollongong College Australia

Databases provide access to journal and newspaper articles. They may also include other information sources such as electronic books, statistics or company information.

  • Databases by Faculty - select the faculty appropriate to your assignment, Diploma or Degree for a complete list of databases

Databases to try first

fulltext icon = fulltext = complete article provided partial fulltext = partial fulltext = many articles are fulltext, some are citation and abstract only new = new resource more information = more information
Image = quota free if accessed by this link

Title

Tips

Notes

Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

Australian coverage.

Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: Informit

Need help? Try this animated search which uses a sample assignment question

Emerald Fulltext fulltext icon Image

Tips

Management, human resource management, economics, marketing, logistics, training and education

International coverage

Indexing 1989 fulltext 1994 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: Emerald website

Need help? Try this database guide.

Expanded Academic ASAP partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

This database has information in most topic areas.

International coverage.

1980 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: Gale InfoTrac

Need help? Try this database guide.

Proquest 5000 partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

This database has information in most topic areas.

International coverage.

Various dates

more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: Proquest.

Need help?: Try this animated search which uses a sample assignment question

ScienceDirect Image Image

Tips

Social sciences, life, physical, medical and technical sciences.

International coverage.

1995 - present, some earlier

more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: ScienceDirect website

Need help? Try this animated search using a sample assignment question.

top of page

Other relevant databases

fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link

Title

Tips

Notes

A + Education Image Image

Tips

Education and related fields, including curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training.

Australian coverage.

This is Australian Education Index with selected fulltext added

Fulltext 2000 - present Index 1978 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Database search system: Informit

Need help? Try this animated search which uses a sample assignment question

AGIS Plus Text partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law.

Australian coverage

Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present
more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: Informit

Need help? Try this animated search which uses a sample assignment question

Australian Bureau of Statistics fulltext icon Image

Tips

Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line.

Australian coverage.

publications 1988 - present, with older time series

more information

This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website

Database search system: ABS website

Cambridge Journals Online Image Image

Tips

Sciences, social sciences, and humanities

International coverage

Image

Conditions of use

Database search system : Cambridge journals website

Computer Database partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Computer related news and product reviews.

International coverage

more information

Current year to date plus previous three years

Conditions of use

Database search system: Gale InfoTrac.

Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia (DELTAA)

Image

Tips

English as a second language study and teaching.

Australian coverage.

1985 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Database search system: Informit

E-library Image Image

Tips

Informit e-Library provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials.

Australian coverage

Image

Conditions of use

Database search system: Informit

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Image Image

Tips

General information, Information in most topic areas

International coverage

Frequent updates

more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: Britannica Online

ERIC

Image

Tips

Education.

International coverage.

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

Database search system: Proquest

Factiva Image Image

 

Tips

Newspaper and company information

Dates vary

Image

Database search system: Factiva

Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh).

Family and Society Plus Image Image

Tips

Issues about, or of relevance to families.

Australian coverage

Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present

This is Family database with selected fulltext added

Image

Conditions of use

Database search system: Informit

Grove Art Online fulltext icon Image

Tips

Art in all periods and areas. Art forms, styles and movements, civilisations and cultures, subject matters and materials.

International coverage

1998 plus regular updates and additions

more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: Grove

Informaworld Image Image Tips

Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities.

International.

 

Image

 

Conditions of use

OneSource Global Business Browser - Asia Pacific edition

Tips

Very extensive industry and company resource

International, global not just Asia Pacific

More information
onesource information
OneSource Information Services

Oxford Reference Online fulltext icon Image

Tips

General reference, arts, history, business, sciences languages. Fulltext of dictionaries and other reference books.

International coverage

Various dates

more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: Oxford.

Safari Tech Books Online Image Image

Tips

Computing, networks, web, applications, security. books from several key publishers.

Usually latest editions

more information

Conditions of use

Database search system: Safari

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory

Image

Tips

Information about journals e.g. whether a journal is academic or popular

Note: this database is not used to find journal articles by topic.

International coverage

more information

Database search system: Bowkers.

Need help? Try this database guide.

top of page

 

 
   

Last reviewed: 4 March, 2008 

 
   
 
University of Wollongong
Library Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548
  CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback