Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
Databases for Graduate School of Medicine
- Databases to try first
- Other relevant databases
- Additional databases for researchers
- Database passwords
- Database tips
| Databases to try first | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
|
|
Tips
|
Standard medical reference books in electronic form regularly updated McGraw-Hill |
AccessPharmacy |
Standard pharmacy reference books in electronic form, regularly updated Mc-Graw-Hill | |
| Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) |
Tips |
Covers most drugs marketed in Australia. The AMH is for information purposes only and is designed as a general drug and therapeutic information reference for healthcare professionals and students in Australia. Current AMH Pty. Ltd. |
|
|
|
Evidence based medicine. Point of care Current |
|
|
Tips |
Nursing and allied health. International. 1981 - present EbscoHOST |
| Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. 1991 - present Ovid |
| Cochrane - All |
Tips |
Evidence- based medicine. Clinical medicine, trials Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. Inernational Ovid. |
| Cochrane Library |
|
Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. Current Alternative access for anybody based in Australia. This service is on the Wiley Interscience site. The link provided here will allow you to access Cochrane using EZproxy. If you use the link to the Wiley Interscience home page and then go to Cochrane you will lose the EZproxy connection and use will affect quota. |
| Dictionary of Drugs |
Tips |
Drugs and pharmacological agents. International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Drug Database (DRUG) |
Tips |
Substance abuse. Australian. 1974 - present Informit |
| EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club |
Tips |
Evidence- based medicine. International. 1991 - present Ovid |
|
|
|
Evidence- based medicine. Clinical medicine, trials Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. Inernational Ovid. |
| EBM Reviews - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, trials. International. Not date limited
Ovid |
| EBM Reviews - Dare |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. Date is latest update for whole database Ovid |
| eTG Complete |
Tips |
Medicine - Therapeutic Guidelines Chapters reviewed and revised every 2-3 years Therapeutic Guidelines Limited |
|
|
|
Medical, evidence based for point of care. Premium on current information FirstConsult website |
Harrison's Practice |
Common medical topics for information at the point of care. Frequently updated McGraw-Hill | |
| Health and Medical Complete |
Tips |
Healthcare specialties, including nursing. International. 1986 - present Proquest |
| Health Reference Center - Academic |
Tips |
Health information for nursing, public health, nutrition, psychology. International. Current year plus previous four years Gale InfoTrac |
Images MD ![]() |
Medical images (photos, tables diagrams and graphs) with informative text. Current Medicine Group website | |
Liebert Online |
Electronic Journals in Lifesciences, Medicine, Law, Psychology, Engineering, biotechnology,Informatics Dates vary but most commence in 2000, with a few earlier
Mary Ann Liebert Inc. | |
|
|
|
Medical developments and clinical information Premium on current information MDConsult website |
| Meditext |
Tips |
Health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Australian. Fulltext 1996- Indexing 1968- Informit |
|
Premedline - In-process records
|
Tips |
Medicine. Anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology and health care. International. 1950 - present, in several files Ovid |
| MIMS Online |
Tips |
Pharmaceutical database with information about prescription and non-prescription drugs. Australian Current Health Communication Network (HCN) |
| OMMBID - Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease |
Tips | Genetic Research Information International 2007 with updates McGraw Hill |
| Pubmed Central |
Tips |
Medicine. International. Free version of Medline, Premedline plus other content 1966 - present National Center for Biotechnology Information - U.S. National Library of Medicine. Please refer to the help before using this database |
| Other relevant databases | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (ATSIhealth) |
Tips |
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health. Australian. 1988 - present Informit |
| APAIS-Health |
Tips |
Legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Subset of APAIS. Australian. 1978 - present Informit |
| AusportMed |
Tips |
Medical and health issues in Australian sport. A subset of Ausport. Australian. 1989 - present Informit |
| Biological Abstracts |
Tips |
Biological and medical research. Clinical studies, new organisms. agriculture biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International. 1969- 2003 Access to later material is available through Biosis Previews Ovid |
|
|
|
Over 100 Open Access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine Conditions of use (word file) Biomed Central website |
|
|
|
Biological and medical research. Clinical studies, new organisms. agriculture biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International. 2002 - Access to earlier material is through Biological Abstracts Ovid |
| CINCH-Health |
Tips |
Criminal law and justice relating to health. Australian. 1968 - present Informit |
Conference Proceedings Citation Index ![]() |
Tips | Conference papers and citations. Choose Science or Social Science and Humanities 1991- present ![]() Conditions of use Thomson Reuters |
| Dictionary of Natural Products |
Tips |
Naturally occuring chemicals. International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Encyclopedia of Life Sciences |
Tips |
Biochemistry, biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, history of life sciences. International. Published 2001 with continual updates Wiley |
|
|
|
Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australia. Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present This is Family database with selected fulltext added Informit |
| Health & Society Database (H&S) |
Tips |
Health policy services and issues. Australian. Subset of Family. 1980 - present Informit |
|
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
|
|
Nursing and nursing related health issues. International Dates vary CSA |
| HIV/AIDS Database (HIVA) |
Tips |
Clinical, nutritional, medical and psychological aspects of HIV/AIDS. Australian focus 1980 - present Informit |
| Informaworld |
Tips |
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International. |
| Nature Journals Online |
Tips |
Science research. International Nature Publishing Group Please consult the Info link for subscribed titles and their links. Individual titles also listed in the Library catalogue |
|
|
|
Reproductive health, population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE website |
| PsycArticles |
Tips |
Psychology. Journals of American Psychological Association. International Ovid |
|
|
Tips |
Psychology books. International 1806 - present Ovid |
| Psycinfo 1806- , 1967- , 1985- |
Tips |
Psychology and related disciplines. International. 1806 - present Ovid |
|
Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
|
|
Psychology and related disciplines from the publisher SAGE and participating societies. International CSA |
| Rural and Remote Health Database (RURAL) |
Tips |
Rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers Australian 1966 - present Informit |
Sage Journals Online ![]() |
Tips |
Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. International SAGE Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform |
| ScienceDirect |
Tips |
Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International. 1995 - present, some earlier ScienceDirect website |
|
|
Tips |
Sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness. International. 1800 - present EbscoHOST |
| Springerlink |
Tips |
Journal of the publisher Springer-Verlag. International with strengths in Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy. Dates vary Springerlink |
| Web of Knowledge |
Tips |
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web Dates vary for each database ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Web of Science |
Tips |
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Wiley Interscience |
Tips |
Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International. Dates vary according to title Wiley |
Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Interruptions to UOW IT services (on & off campus)
Maintenance to UOW IT services is planned for Saturday 21 November, 6am – 6pm. On-campus, internet access to websites outside UOW, and access to UOW webpages from off-campus will be affected. More details...


