UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Library
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Databases by Title: B - D

 B

fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cd rom icon = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link

Title

Tips

Notes

Banking Information Source partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Business, finance, government and law. International, North American focus.

1971 - present, fulltext may be later

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

BERITA- Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN Database Image

Tips

General reference. Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, or South-East Asia as a whole and ASEAN.

1990 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit .

Bibliography of Indonesian Politics and the Economy (BIPE) Image

Tips

Politics, government, economy, political culture and demography. Indonesia.

1965 - October 1998

more information

Conditions of use

Informit .

Biological Abstracts Image

Tips

Biological and medical research. Clinical studies, new organisms. agriculture biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International.

1969- 2003

Access to later material is available through Biosis Previews

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid

Biomed Central Image Image

 

Tips

Over 100 Open Access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine

Image

Conditions of use (word file)

Biomed Central website

Biosis Previews Image

Tips

Biological and medical research. Clinical studies, new organisms. agriculture biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International.

2002 -

Access to earlier material is through Biological Abstracts

Image

Conditions of use

Ovid

Blackwell Synergy 

This site no longer operates. The content is located on the Wiley Interscience site. 

 

 

BMJ Clinical Evidence Image Image

Tips

Evidence based medicine. Point of care

Current

Image

British Education Index Image

Tips

Indexes over 300 UK education and training journals which supports educational research.

It presents information which does not yet appear in the subscription services and the content changes regularly. (For subscription service, search catalogue for British Education Index). British

Current

Image

British Education Index

Business & Company ASAP    Tips

Companies, markets and industries; market trends, mergers and acquisitions, management theory and company overviews. International

1980 - present

Conditions of use

Gale

Business Monitor Online Image Image

Tips

Country based industry reports, forecasts, alerts and analysis. Detailed economic, political and social coverage

Image

Conditions of use

Business Monitor

 Business Source Premier    Tips

Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.

 

EBSCOhost

Business Who's Who of Australia fulltext icon Image

Tips

Company information by specific industry, location, board members and other key personnel, parent and subsidiary companies,annual revenue, employee numbers, product trade names. Australian.

Current

more information

Conditions of use

Dun and Bradstreet webpage

Password required

top of page

 C

fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cd rom icon = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link

Title

Tips

Notes

Cambridge Journals Online Image Image

Tips

Sciences, social sciences, and humanities

Image

Conditions of use

Cambridge journals website

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts

Tips

Portal site for CSA databases, some technical engineering, some social sciences.

Conditions of use

CSA

Career and Technical Education Image

Tips

Vocational and technical periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum.

1991 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Proquest

Catalysts & Catalysed Reactions Image

 

Graphical abstracts of new developments in catalysis.

International

2002 - present

Image

Royal Society of Chemistry

CBCA Education Image

Tips

Canadian information in the field of education. Teaching, educational research, and educational administration in Canada.

Dates vary, some back to 1970s

Image

Conditions of use

Proquest

CCH Online fulltext icon Image

Tips

Law. Fulltext access to UOW subscriptions only. Australian.

Availability dates vary

more information

Conditions of use

CCH website

Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts Image

Tips

Manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. International

1975 - present

Image

Conditions of use

CSA

Chem Alert Image Image

Tips

Chemical hazards, safety, toxicology

Current

CHemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography (CHERUB) Image

Tips

Chemical engineering. Australian.

1956 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit.

CHEMnetBASE fulltext icon Image

Tips

Chemistry dictionaries and handbooks International.

Dates vary

more information

Conditions of use

Chapman and Hall/CRC

CHRONICLES - The Australian Chronicles: An Index to Sources of Australian Biography Image

Tips

Biography. Australian.

1879 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit.

A Chronology of Australian Historic & Current Events (AUSCHRON) Image

Tips

Current and historical events. Australian.

1992- plus historical material

more information

Conditions of use

Informit.

CIAO Image Image

Tips

International affairs, comparative politics, area studies. International

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

CIAO website

Cinahl Image

Tips

Nursing and allied health. International.

1982 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid.

CINCH Image

Tips

Criminal law and justice. Australian.

1968 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit.

CINCH-ATSIS Image

Tips

Involvement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the justice system. Subset of Cinch. Australian.

1968 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit.

CINCH-Health Image

Tips

Criminal law and justice relating to health. Australian.

1968 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

CLIB2001, CLIB96 & CLIB91 Image

Tips

Statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics. Stand alone CD ROM ask at Research Help.

Cochrane - All Image Image

Tips

Evidence- based medicine.

Clinical medicine, trials

Clinical medicine, systematic reviews.

Inernational

Conditions of use

Ovid.

Cochrane Controlled Trials Register fulltext icon Image

Tips

Clinical medicine, trials. International.

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews fulltext icon Image

Tips

Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. 1991 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid

Cochrane Library Image

Tips

Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. Current

Alternative access for anybody based in Australia.

This service is on the Wiley Interscience site. The link provided here will allow you to access Cochrane using EZproxy. If you use the link to the Wiley Interscience home page and then go to Cochrane you will lose the EZproxy connection and use will affect quota.

Columbia International Affairs Online - CIAO Image Image

Tips

International affairs, comparative politics, area studies. International

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

CIAO website

Combined Chemical Dictionary fulltext icon Image

Tips

Chemical substances, properties of compounds. International.

Dates vary

more information

Conditions of use

Chapman and Hall/CRC

Comlaw Image Image

Tips

Australian Federal legislation. Acts, bills, regulations etc. Australian

Includes repealed and current legislation.

This site will be replacing Scaleplus

Image

Attorney-General's Department website

Commonwealth Universities Database Online Service (CUDOS) Image Image

 

Directory information for Commonwealth universities, research areas, staff, study and funding. Commonwealth countries

Password required, or discover password at the site, using University your email.

CUDOS site

Compendex no quota

Tips

Engineering and technology. International. 1969 - present

more information

Engineering Village website

Completed Australian Rural Research Projects (CARRP) - see Agriculture and Natural Resources Research - Archive

 

 

Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry II    Tips

Drug research in academia and industry. International.

Reference book Copyright 2007

 

ScienceDirect website

Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations Image Image

Tips

Chemical transformations, organic synthesis, functional groups

Up to 1995

Image

ScienceDirect

Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations II Image Image

Tips

Chemical transformations, organic synthesis, functional groups

1995 - 2005

Image

ScienceDirect

Computer Database partial fulltext icon Image

Tips

Computer related news and product reviews. International.

Current year to date plus previous three years

more information

Conditions of use

Gale InfoTrac.

Computer Index Australasia (CIA) Image

Tips

Popular computing. Australian.

1994 - 2001

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Consumer Sciences Index (CSI) Image

Tips

Consumer economics. Australian.

1988 - 2001

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Copper Data Center Database Image

Tips

Copper, copper alloys and copper technology. International

1965 - present

Image

Conditions of use

CSA

Corrosion Abstracts Image

Tips

Corrosion science and engineering. International

1980 - present

Image

Conditions of use

CSA

CSIRO Online fulltext icon Image

Tips

Scientific research. Fulltext access to UOW subscriptions only. Australian.

1997 - present

more information

CSIRO website.

CUDOS - Commonwealth Universities Database Online Service (CUDOS) Image Image

 

Directory information for Commonwealth universities, research areas, staff, study and funding. Commonwealth countries

Password required, or discover password at the site, using University your email.

CUDOS site

Current Contents Connect Image

Tips

Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International.

more information

Conditions of use

ISI Web of Knowledge

Current Index to Statistics Image

Tips

Mathematical statistics. International.

1975 - present. Pre-1975 coverage for some.

Image

CIS website

top of page

 D

fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cd rom icon = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link

Title

Tips

Notes

DARE fulltext icon Image

Tips

Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International.

Current

Image

Conditions of use

Ovid

Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia (DELTAA) Image

Tips

English second language study and teaching. Australian.

1985 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Informit

DELTAA Image

Tips

English second language study and teaching. Australian.

1985 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Informit

Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds fulltext icon Image

Tips

25,000 most commonly cited compounds in Chemical Abstracts. International.

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

Chapman and Hall/CRC

Dictionary of Drugs fulltext icon Image

Tips

Drugs and pharmacological agents. International.

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

Chapman and Hall/CRC

Dictionary of Natural Products fulltext icon Image

Tips

Naturally occuring chemicals. International.

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

Chapman and Hall/CRC

Directory of Open access Journals Image Image

Tips

Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Image

DOAJ site

Dissertations Abstracts Image

Tips

Thesis citations with abstracts. International.

1861 to present

Recent years may have 24 page preview. Option to order

Image

Conditions of use

Proquest.

Drug Database (DRUG) Image

Tips

Substance abuse. Australian.

1974 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Informit

Duke University Press Image Image

Tips

Humanities and social sciences journals. International

Dates vary, most from 2000 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Duke website

 

top of page

 
   

Last reviewed: 26 June, 2008 

 
   
 
University of Wollongong
Library Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548
  CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback