Databases by Title: H - L

 H
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics fulltext icon Image  Tips

Scientific data for chemistry and physics. International.

83rd ed. 2003

more information

Conditions of use

Chapman and Hall/CRC

Handbook of Child Psychology     Tips

Child psychology, including theoretical models of human development; cognition, perception and language; social emotional and personality development; child psychology in practice

6th ed. 2006

Conditions of use

Wiley

Harrison's Practice     

Common medical topics for information at the point of care.

Frequently updated

McGraw-Hill

Health and Medical Complete partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Healthcare specialties, including nursing. International.

1986 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

Health & Society Database (H&S) Image Tips

Health policy services and issues. Australian. Subset of Family.

1980 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Health Issues in Criminal Justice (CINCH-Health) Image Tips

Criminal law and justice relating to health. Australian.

1968 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Health Reference Center - Academic partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Health information for nursing, public health, nutrition, psychology. International.

Current year plus previous four years

more information

Conditions of use

Gale InfoTrac

Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Image Image Tips

Nursing and nursing related health issues. International

Dates vary

 

Sage

HeinOnline Image Image Tips

Law journals and reports, U.S. focus

Archive collection, from first publication date

Image

Conditions of use

Hein

HighWirePress partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences. International

Archive site, dates vary, latest issues usually embargoed.

more information

Stanford U. P.

HIV/AIDS Database (HIVA) Image Tips

Clinical, nutritional, medical and psychological aspects of HIV/AIDS. Australian focus

1980 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Hoover's Company Records Image Tips

Company data and brief financial data, known as company capsules and profiles.

Image

Conditions of use

Proquest

Humanities and Social Sciences Index - Retrospective  

Indexing for key journals in social sciences and humanities.

International

1907-1984

Image


Wilson web

top of page

 I
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes

IDP Database of Research on International Education

Formerly known as AEI - Database of Research on International Education

 

IEA Databases

fulltext icon Image

 

International Energy Agency statistics on SourceOECD

more information

Conditions of use

Source OECD Website

IEEExplore fulltext icon Image Tips

Electrical and electronic engineering. International.

1988 - present

more information

Conditions of use

IEEExplore website

Illawarra Index    

Index to local Illawarra newspapers and Illawarra Historical Society Bulletin

1950s - present

more information

Wollongong City Library website

Images MD fulltext icon    Medical images (photos, tables diagrams and graphs) with informative text.


Current Medicine Group website
Index to Conference Proceedings

Now on Web of Science Image
   
Index to Legal Periodicals Image Tips

Law journal literature.

1978 - current

Included in LexisNexis

more information

Indigenous Studies Bibliography (AIATSIS) Image Tips

Australian Indigenous studies.

1990 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Infokoori Image  

INFOKOORI is an index to the Koori Mail, a national fortnightly newspaper published for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Australian

1991 - present

State Library NSW

Infoquick   

Indexing of The Sydney Morning Herald

Australian

1988 - June 2005

State Library of NSW

Informaworld Image Image Tips

Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International.

Image

Conditions of use

Informit Databases Image Tips

Informit databases page, choose databases to search

Conditions of use

Informit

Informit E-library Image Image

Now divided into  Humanities and Social Sciences Collection and Engineering Collection

Tips

Informit e-Library provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials.

Image

Conditions of use

Informit

IngentaConnect partial fulltext icon Image Tips

A comprehensive collection of academic and professional research articles online. Fulltext is available to titles subscribed to by the Library. Other fulltext may be purchased

International

Various dates

more information

Ingenta.

Inspec Image Tips

Physics, electrical engineering, electronics,communications, information technology. International.

1969 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid

Institute of Physics - Journals   Image  

Physics and its subdisciplines, such as quantum physics, superconductors, semiconductors, nanotechnology and astrophysics and nuclear physics.

First volumes to present

Image

IOP website

International Encyclopedia of Communication ft  noquota   Communication Studies. Extended explorations of major topics, short definitions of key terms. Media, psychology and IT aspects of communication.

International

Blackwell

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences Image Tips

Social and behavioural sciences and related areas

International

Image

Conditions of use

ScienceDirect

ISI Proceedings Image

see

Conference Proceedings Citation Index, 

on

Web of Science

Tips

Index to significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. International

1991- present

Image

Conditions of use

Thomson Scientific (ISI)

top of page

 J
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
JSTOR Image Image Tips

Archives of significant scholarly journals published in the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences, music, business, mathematics and statistics.

Image
Conditions of use

JSTOR

Joanna Briggs Institute - Evidence-Based Resources  Image Tips

Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets for nursing and the allied health professions.

Conditions of use


Proquest 

Journal Citation Reports (JCR Web) Image Tips

Ranking of science and social science journals. International.

2000 - present

more information

Conditions of use

ISI

Journals_at_Ovid fulltext icon Image Tips

Medical sciences journals. International.

Various dates

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid

top of page

 K
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext Image = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes

top of page

 L
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext Image = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
Law Institute Journal Image   Law Institute web page

Password required
Law Society Journal Image  

Law Society of NSW Web Page

Password required - password does not provide full member access

LAWLEX fulltext icon Image Tips

Law, Hansard, bills explanatory memoranda.  Australia.

Dates vary

more information

Lawlex

Lecture Notes in Computer Science Image Tips

LNCS covers new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching.

1997 - present

Image

Conditions of use

SpringerLink

Legal Online  Image Image

Formerly Lawbook online
Tips

Case law and commentary. Australian.

Availability dates vary

Recommended browser: IE

more information

LawbookCo.com

Legal Resource Index Image Tips

Law. International

1977- present

more information

Included in LexisNexis. See  notes with Lexis.com relating to access problems

LegalTrac    Tips

Major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.

1980 - present

Conditions of use

Gale

Lexis.com Image Image

Lexis.com From on campus (uses quota)
Tips

Legal resources. International law.

Various dates

more information

We have problems accessing Lexis.com through our EZproxy server, which provides off-campus access and also is quota free. We have provided another link for on campus users. Off campus users who are using an IE browser will be able to get ready access if they uncheck the option to "Warn about certificate address mismatch". This warning is designed to alert users that the security certificate presented by this website was issued for a different website’s address. In this instance, it is because the University uses generic security certificates so they do not exactly match the servers the traffic is coming from and so cause the error message. 

Consider using another browser or go into: Tools->Internet Options->Advanced->”Warn about certificate address mismatch” uncheck the box and restart your browser. You might like to revert to having the warning once you have finished using Lexis.com

Lexis

LexisNexis AU Image Image Tips

Law including administrative, corporate, family, intellectual property,civil and industrial law. Australian.

Current

Recommended browser: IE

Image

Conditions of use - please see distinction between academic and non-academic use

LexisNexis AU

Libraries Australia Image Tips

This is the new interface to Kinetica Holdings of resources in Australian Libraries. Links to several catalogues:

  • NBD - Australia
  • British Library catalogue - U.K.
  • Library of Congress catalogue - USA
  • Te Puna - New Zealand

more information

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts Image  

Librarianship, Information Science. International

Mid 1960s - present

Free database

Ebsco

Liebert Online     

 Electronic Journals in Lifesciences, Medicine, Law, Psychology, Engineering, Biotechnology, Informatics

Dates vary but most start from 2000, with some earlier

Mary Ann Liebert Inc.  

top of page

 

Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Last reviewed: 13 November, 2009

       

Library sticky region image

Interruptions to UOW IT services (on & off campus)

Maintenance to UOW IT services is planned for Saturday 21 November, 6am – 6pm. On-campus, internet access to websites outside UOW, and access to UOW webpages from off-campus will be affected. More details...