Databases
Databases provide access to journal and newspaper articles and may also include conference papers, electronic books, theses, statistics, company and institution information, country and industry data, case law, legislation and legal commentary. Many provide full text whilst others provide citations and abstracts.
Use the A-Z title list if you know the title you want, otherwise check the faculty lists and also find more information under the icon next to each database title.
Blackwell Synergy and Wiley Interscience - Former Blackwell Synergy titles are now on the Wiley Interscience interface. For a limited number of titles we are not gaining the access we are entitled to. We are dealing with Wiley to resolve these issues. Links from the catalogue will still go through Blackwell but will be redirected to Wiley
By title:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
By faculty, school or college :
Arts | Commerce | Creative Arts | Education | Engineering | Graduate School of Business | Graduate School of Medicine | Health and Behavioural Sciences | Informatics | Law | Science | Wollongong College Australia
For researchers:
Database trials
- International Encyclopedia of Communication - communication, media, journalism, semiotics etc. - Until 24th July
- Technology Research Database - a large technology database which includes our current subscription, Materials Research Database plus environmental engineering, new technology, earthquake engineering and more - Until 24th July
- Illustrata Technology - running in conjunction with the Technology Research Database trial - search for relevant illustrations, graphs and tables - Until 24th July
- Film Indexes Online - AFI catalog, FIAF Plus, Film Index International - all in one - Until 30th july
- Bureau van Dijk - Orbis or Mint - company information worldwide, until 4th July
- American Geophysical Union AGU Digital Library 1896-2002 Trial for 2008
What's new?
Can't access a database?
|
Featured database
Sage Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of virtually all their journals. This includes the Health Sciences and the Psychology collections we have had for some time plus many additional titles, giving access to over 480 titles in all. Acces is now on the Sage platform, where is the past access for the collections has been on CSA Illumina
Sage has strengths in the social sciences but publishes on most disciplines, including business, humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine. There is no easy way of browsing on the online journals home but you can see the titles available on their general journals page. Once you narrow down to a specific title it is possible to select a link to view fulltext
|
|
I M P O R T A N T
Please log off or use links back to the Library from within the database interface when finished. This will free access to the database for other users.
Guides and tutorials
Database guides - including information about:
- truncation symbols
- proximity searching
- email alerts
- use with endnote
- thesaurus
Browsers
Where known, browser preferences are noted near each database link. If problems with access, search or display are encountered, try an alternative browser. Library public access workstations have IE and Mozilla Firefox.
|
|
|