UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Analytical Abstracts online (Analytical WebBase)

Access

Access Analytical Abstracts

Coverage

1980 - present. Updated weekly

Subject

The following areas are covered comprehensively:

  • Chromatography, electrophoresis, spectrometry and radiochemical methods
  • Inorganic, organic and organometallic analysis, including applied and industrial products
  • Clinical and biochemical analysis, including proteomics and genomics
  • Pharmaceutical analysis, including drugs in biological fluids
  • Environmental, agricultural and food analysis

Geographic coverage

International

Includes

The online database includes the full content of Analytical Abstracts from 1980 to date, plus equipment manufacturers' application notes, standards and books. It contains over one-third of a million records.

Non-electronic version

The Library has volume 1 1954 - vol60 1998 in print S 016.54306/1

Authentication

IP authentication using EZproxy

User guide

Analytical Abstracts automatically searches synonyms of chemical names and acronyms of techniques. This improved searching provides retrieval of all relevant records. For example, entering "PCB" returns all records containing "polychlorinated biphenyls" or the index term "biphenyl derivatives, chloro" in addition to those containing "PCB".

Abbreviations: The database makes extensive use of abbreviations but search feature ensuring use of synonyms means that users should not be required to know or include abbreviations when searching in the free text or index terms sections.

Abbreviations need to be used accurately in some of the fields used for searching bibliographic data, for example, standard abbreviations must be used when searching by journal title.

Each record contains full bibliographic details, an abstract and index terms which are assigned from an analytical perspective, allowing the user to specify:

  • ANALYTE - the substance being determined
  • MATRIX - the material being analysed
  • TECHNIQUE - including fields of study, instruments, physico-chemical parameters, etc.   

The index term is a word or phrase conforming to a controlled vocabulary. The index terms used may be specific elements or chemical compounds, groups of chemicals, specific or general materials, techniques, procedures or fields of study.
Chemical compounds are indexed with the root or parent of the molecule first: benzene, 1,4-dinitro-
Salts of organic acids are indexed at the parent acid:
oxalic acid
oxalic acid sodium salt
Techniques such as spectrometry and chromatography are generally indexed in inverted form, with the root technique first:
chromatography, gas
electron spectroscopy, Auger
spectrometry, emission, infra-red

It is recommended that users who intend to extensively use this database consult the help pages, including the downloadable pdfs so that they make best use of its features.

Many database records include a link to the original full-text article online. A subscription or pay-per-view may be required to access the article.

Number of users allowed

Not limited

Publisher

Royal Society of Chemistry

Notes

-

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback