UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

BMJ Best Practice

Access

Access BMJ Best Practice

Coverage

BMJ Best Practice provides information that is action orientated and structured around the patient consultation with information relating to over 10,000 diagnoses.

The resource is constantly updated

Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Every decision about what kind of content to include and how to organise the information was made with this guiding principle in mind, making Best Practice uniquely quick and intuitive to use.

 

Subject

The benefits and harms of preventative and therapeutic interventions, with emphasis on outcomes that matter to patients.

Geographic coverage

International

Includes

It is divided into condition monograph, decision monograph and overview monograph.

A standard structure for each condition including a summary and definition, aetiology, epidemiology, through key diagnostic steps and tests into treatment approaches with drugs, guidelines and evidence, finishing with recommendations and outlook for patient follow-up.

Information for patients to support treatment options

A drug formulary for quick checking of prescription guidance

Clinical Evidence ‘inside’ brings together the best current evidence with expert guidance

 

Non-electronic version

-

Authentication

IP authentication using EZproxy

User guide

Search
Users can search all or limit their search to conditions, diagnosis, treatments, evidence, drug database or guidelines. Also available, users will see a 'drugs' tab in the search results, giving them easy access to important drug information.

Navigation
The top navigation bar provides important links to users.
These include links to 'Clinical Evidence', 'Patient Leaflets', the 'Help' function and a 'drug database' link.  The drug database link provides users with an A-Z list of the Martindale drugs  that are listed on Best Practice with a direct link to Martindale.

Clinical Evidence
The navigational link will provide users with all Clinical Evidence systematic reviews.  The information also contains BMJ Updates and the key points from Clinical Evidence.

Number of users allowed

Not limited

Publisher

British Medical Journal publishers

Notes

-

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback