UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

FirstSearch

Access

FirstSearch web site

Coverage

Varies

Subject

Wide range of subject areas

Geographic coverage

International

Includes

Various databases, with a common search interface but with various fields for searching depending on the database. Links to fulltext of many of the articles
Periodicals Title Finder is now available on the
OCLC website. This includes information such as the beginning and ending date for citations and fulltext articles indexed in FirstSearch databases

Non-electronic version

-

Authentication

Password

User guide

Help on the system

Number of users allowed

Unlimited

Publisher

OCLC FirstSearch and various database producers.

Notes

Access is limited to academic staff and postgraduate students, honours and above.
Note: FirstSearch databases charge by the search. Therefore bear in mind, the use of the Boolean operator OR in a search statement constitutes a second search as does the limiting of an initial search by adding additional terms or dates etc. Searching in more than one database is recorded as multiple searches. The Library pays for the searches but asks you to use the service judiciously.

Users of Worldcat should try the free version on the web where this will suffice.
Databases are listed under various subject areas.

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback