UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

Access

Access International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

 

Coverage

The social and behavioural sciences and related areas. It may principally be of interest to users in Health and Behavioural Sciences, Arts, Science and Education.

 

Subject

Overarching Topics.

Institutions and infrastructure (D.L. Featherman).
History of the social and behavioral sciences (P. Wagner).
Ethics of research and applications (R. McC. Adams, J. Mittelstrass).
Biographies (K.U. Mayer). Integrative concepts and issues (R.M. Lerner, R.A. Scott).

Methodology.

Statistics (S.E. Fienberg, J.B. Kadane).
Mathematics and computer sciences (A.A.J. Marley).
Logic of inquiry and research design (T.D. Cook, C. Ragin).

Disciplines.

Anthropology (U. Hannerz).
Archaeology (M.W. Conkey, P. Kirch).
Demography (J. Hoem).
Economics (O. Ashenfelter).
Education (F.E. Weinert).
Geography (S. Hanson).
History (J. Kocka). Law (M. Galanter, L.B. Edelman).
Linguistics (B. Comrie). Philosophy (P. Pettit, A. Honneth).
Political science (N. Polsby).
Clinical and applied psychology (T. Wilson).
Cognitive psychology and cognitive science (W. Kintsch).
Developmental, social, personality and motivational psychology (N. Eisenberg).
Sociology (R. Boudon).

Intersecting Fields.

Evolutionary sciences (W. Durham, M.W. Feldman).
Genetics, behavior and society (M.W. Feldman, R. Wehner).
Behavioral and cognitive neuroscience (R.F. Thompson, J.L. McClelland).
Psychiatry (M. Sabshin, F. Holsboer). Health (R. Schwarzer, J.S. House).
Gender studies (P. England).
Religious studies (D. Martin).
Expressive forms (W. Griswold).
Environmental/ecological sciences (B.L. Turner).
Science and technology studies (S. Jasanoff).
Area and international studies (M. Byrne McDonnell, C. Culhoun).

Applications.

Organizational and management studies (A. Martinelli).
Media studies and commercial applications (M. Schudson).
Urban studies and planning (E. Birch). Public policy (K. Prewitt, I. Katznelson).
Modern cultural concerns (R.A. Shweder).

 

Geographic coverage

While the encyclopedia is global in scope, the proportion of Australian authors is higher than might be expected.

Includes

It comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

 

Non-electronic version

The print version runs to 26 volumes

Authentication

IP authentication using EZproxy

 

User guide

UOW guide
There is also extensive help on the system, including interactive tutorials in several languages

Browsing

Browse this extensive encyclopedia via:
The hierarchical subject classification scheme (introduced by 99 top-level entries)
Alphabetical list of article titles
Alphabetical list of authors
The hierarchical subject index (over 122,400 entries)

Searching

Search the encyclopedia in a variety of ways, including by:
Article title
Abstract
Alphabetical list of authors
Full text
References
Subject index

Viewing

All articles are available as full-text HTML files, and as PDF files that can be viewed, downloaded, or printed out in their original print format.
The HTML version includes links to fulltext articles that are available on ScienceDirect and through Crossref.

 

Number of users allowed

Not limited

 

Publisher

Elsevier

 

Notes

This publication is on the ScienceDirect platform.

 

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback