UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Indian Biography Database - INDBIO

Access

Informit Access INDBIO

Coverage

1977 - April 1996

Subject

The members of India's lower-house (the Lok Sabha) of Parliament elected between 1977 and 1991. The database includes biographical information provided by the members of parliament, and includes death dates, references to obituary notices, and notes about recent events in legislators' careers.

Geographic coverage

India

Includes

Fields for elements such as personal name, religion, date of birth, political party and the parliaments in which a person served.

Non-electronic version

-

Authentication

IP address or password authentication

User guide

Truncation: (*) serves as a substitute for any string of zero or more characters,e.g. tax* finds tax, taxes, taxation, taxing
Within a word (*) serves as a substitute for one character or none. Multiple asterisks (***) replace tup to that number of characters. e.g. colo*r finds color or colour. dra***t finds draft of draught
Once logged on select Database Information for description of the database, select Help for description of the search software.

Informit Search - Quick Reference Guide (pdf) - on Informit website

Number of users allowed

Not limited

Publisher

School of Politics, La Trobe University, Melbourne

Notes

It is important to be sensitive to spelling when using INDBIO. The variety of accepted spellings of Indian names make it important for users to think widely about how an organization or person may be styled. Whether, for example, "Subhashini Ali" will be alphabetically listed under "S" or "A" is not predictable. Similarly, to omit one of the two "h's" in "Subhashini" will result in a search that fails to turn up the 1989 MP for Kanpur.

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback