UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

ISI Proceedings

Access

Access ISI Proceedings

Coverage

2002 - present

You may see mention of earlier years in some of the help on the website but University of Wollongong subscription only covers this period.

 

Subject

ISI ProceedingsSM is an index to the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines, from anthropology to zoology. It enables you to track emerging ideas and new research in specific fields before the material appears in journal literature.

Science & Technology (STP)

This edition covers the conference literature in all scientific and technical fields, including:

* Agriculture
* Environmental Sciences
* Biochemistry
* Molecular Biology
* Biotechnology
* Medicine
* Engineering
* Computer Science
* Chemistry
* Physics

Social Sciences & Humanities (SSHP)

This edition covers the conference literature in all fields of social sciences and arts and humanities, including:

* Psychology
* Sociology
* Public Health
* Management
* Economics
* Art
* History
* Literature
* Philosophy

 

Geographic coverage

International in scope

Includes

Source publications for ISI ProceedingsSM include:

* Books
* Journals
* Reports
* Series produced by publishers or societies
* Sets of preprints (when preprints are the only publications from a conference)
* International proceedings (includes papers published in English and other languages)

Updated weekly with more than 225,000 records added each year.

Non-electronic version

Index to Scientific and Technical Proceedings R016.5/10 1978 -2004

Authentication

IP authentication utilising EZproxy

 

User guide

Includes general and advanced search engines

Choose whether to search across both subfiles, Science & Technology (STP) and Social Sciences & Humanities (SSHP) or search only one subfile and also the timespan or your search before choosing either general or advanced search.

There is a useful feature allowing you to analyse results as a means of refining your search.

Possible uses of the database:

#Locate initial published findings on new research or concepts.
#Verify citations to papers presented at conferences.
#Locate a paper not published in the journal literature.
#Perform retrospective searches on authors, institutions, and organizations as well as subjects.
#Find hard-to-locate conference proceedings not indexed anywhere else.
#Track the reported research for a given subject.
#Make acquisition decisions about proceedings.
#Locate publisher ordering information for the full text of a paper.
#Learn whether the proceedings of a given meeting were published and where.

Further help is available at the site, including:

  • Information for New Users (you need to link to this once logged on)
  • Tutorial

Number of users allowed

200 across consortium of universities

 

Publisher

Thomson Scientific

 

Notes

Browser Requirements

*Microsoft® Internet Explorer version 5.0 (or higher)
*Netscape® Navigator® version 7.0 (or higher)
*Safari 1.0 for Mac OS X 10.2
*Safari 1.2 for Mac OS X 10.3

The product is best viewed in 800 x 600 resolution.

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback