UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Journal Citation Reports - JCR Web

Access

JCR Website

Coverage

2001 -

Subject

Evaluation of the relative importance of science and social science journals within their subject categories.

Science subjects include

Acoustics
Acoustics covers resources on the study of the generation, control, transmission, reception, and effects of sounds.
Agricultural Economics & Policy
Agricultural Economics & Policy covers resources concerning the production, distribution, and consumption of agricultural commodities as well as the managerial and policy decisions concerning these commodities.
Agricultural Engineering
Agricultural Engineering covers resources concerning many engineering applications in agriculture, including the design of machines, equipment, and buildings; soil and water engineering; irrigation and drainage engineering; crop harvesting, processing, and storage; animal production technology, housing, and equipment; precision agriculture; post-harvest processing and technology; rural development; agricultural mechanization; horticultural engineering; greenhouse structures and engineering, bioenergy and aquacultural engineering.
Agriculture, Dairy & Animal Science
Agriculture, Dairy & Animal Science covers resources on the selection, breeding and management of livestock, including animal science, animal nutrition, poultry science, animal breeding and genetics, dairy science, and animal production science.
Agriculture, Multidisciplinary
Agriculture, Multidisciplinary covers resources having a general or interdisciplinary approach to the agricultural sciences.
Agriculture, Soil Science
Agriculture, Soil Science covers resources concerning many aspects of the nature, distribution, and utilization of soils including soil biology and fertility, soil conservation and tillage research, soil biochemistry, and soil chemistry and physics.
Agronomy
Agronomy covers resources on the selection, breeding, management, and post-harvest treatment of crops including crop protection and science, seed science, plant nutrition, plant and soil science, soil management and tillage, weed science, agroforestry, agroclimatology, and agricultural water management.
Allergy
Allergy covers resources dealing with the full spectrum of immunologically-mediated hypersensitivity reactions including immediate or acute hypersensitivity, dermatitis, and asthma.
Anatomy & Morphology
Anatomy & Morphology includes resources describing the characteristics, generation, and organization of structure in vertebrates or invertebrates.
Andrology
Andrology includes resources focused on the development, function, and disorders of male morphology and reproductive systems.
Anesthesiology
Anesthesiology covers resources that focus on the administration of anesthetics, the treatment of pain, and the use of life support systems.
Astronomy & Astrophysics
Astronomy & Astrophysics covers resources that focus on the science of the celestial bodies and their magnitudes, motions, and constitution.
Automation & Control Systems
Automation & Control Systems covers resources on the design and development of processes and systems that minimize the necessity of human intervention.
Behavioral Sciences
Behavioral Sciences covers resources dealing with the biological correlates of observable action in humans or animals. These include sleep, aggression, sexual behavior, and learning as well as the various factors, natural or pharmacological, that alter such behaviors.
Biochemical Research Methods
Biochemical Research Methods includes resources that describe specific techniques used in biological and biochemical research, including methods for the purification and analysis of biomolecules, the observation of the structure or function of living organisms and tissues (exclusive of microscopy), and the alteration of biomolecules for specific research applications.
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology covers resources on carbohydrates, fats, proteins, nucleic acids, genes, drugs, toxic substances and other constituents of cells, microbes, and higher plants and animals including humans.
Biodiversity Conservation
Biodiversity Conservation covers resources on the conservation management of species and ecosystems.
Biology
The Biology category includes resources having a broad or interdisciplinary approach to biology. In addition, it includes materials that cover a specific area of biology not covered in other categories.
Biophysics
Biophysics covers resources that focus on the transfer and effects of physical forces and energy-light, sound, electricity, magnetism, heat, cold, pressure, mechanical forces, and radiation-within and on cells, tissues, and whole organisms.
Biotechnology & Applied Microbiology
Biotechnology & Applied Microbiology includes resources that cover a broad range of topics on the manipulation of living organisms to make products or solve problems to meet human needs.
Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems
Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems covers resources dealing with the diagnosis and treatment of heart disease. Coverage focuses on cardiac disease prevention, pharmacology, surgery, transplantation, and research.
Cell Biology
Cell Biology includes resources on all aspects of the structure and function of eukaryotic cells.
Chemistry, Analytical
Chemistry, Analytical covers resources on the techniques that yield any type of information about chemical systems.
Chemistry, Applied
Chemistry, Applied covers resources that report on the application of basic chemical sciences to other sciences, engineering, and industry.
Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear
Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear includes resources on both inorganic and nuclear chemistry. Chemistry, Inorganic covers resources that are concerned with non-carbon elements and the preparation, properties, and reactions of their compounds.
Chemistry, Medicinal
Chemistry, Medicinal includes resources emphasizing the isolation and study of substances with therapeutic potential.
Chemistry, Multidisciplinary
Chemistry, Multidisciplinary includes resources having a general or interdisciplinary approach to the chemical sciences.
Chemistry, Organic
Chemistry, Organic includes resources that focus on synthetic and natural organic compounds their synthesis, structure, properties, and reactivity. Research on hydrocarbons, a major area of organic chemistry, is included in this category.
Chemistry, Physical
Chemistry, Physical includes resources on photochemistry, solid state chemistry, kinetics, catalysis, quantum chemistry, surface chemistry, electrochemistry, chemical thermodynamics, thermophysics, colloids, fullerenes, and zeolites.
Clinical Neurology
Clinical Neurology covers resources on all areas of clinical research and medical practice in neurology.
Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence
Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence covers resources that focus on research and techniques to create machines that attempt to efficiently reason, problem-solve, use knowledge representation, and perform analysis of contradictory or ambiguous information.
Computer Science, Cybernetics
Computer Science, Cybernetics includes resources that focus on the control and information flows within and between artificial (machine) and biological systems.
Computer Science, Hardware & Architecture
Computer Science, Hardware & Architecture covers resources on the physical components of a computer system: main and logic boards, internal buses and interfaces, static and dynamic memory, storage devices and storage media, power supplies, input and output devices, networking interfaces, and networking hardware such as routers and bridges.
Computer Science, Information Systems
Computer Science, Information Systems covers resources that focus on the acquisition, processing, storage, management, and dissemination of electronic information that can be read by humans, machines, or both.
Computer Science, Interdisciplinary Applications
Computer Science, Interdisciplinary Applications includes resources concerned with the application of computer technology and methodology to other disciplines, such as information management, engineering, biology, medicine, environmental studies, geosciences, arts and humanities, agriculture, chemistry, and physics.
Computer Science, Software Engineering
Computer Science, Software Engineering includes resources that are concerned with the programs, routines, and symbolic languages that control the functioning of the hardware and direct its operation.
Computer Science, Theory & Methods
Computer Science, Theory & Methods includes resources that emphasize experimental computer processing methods or programming techniques such as parallel computing, distributed computing, logic programming, object-oriented programming, high-speed computing, and supercomputing.
Construction & Building Technology
Construction & Building Technology includes resources that provide information on the physical features and design of structures (e.g., buildings, dams, bridges, tunnels) and the materials used to construct them (concrete, cement, steel).
Critical Care Medicine
Critical Care Medicine covers resources on healthcare specialties that focus on the care of patients with acute, life-threatening illness or injury.
Crystallography
Crystallography covers resources that report on the study of the formation, structure, and properties of crystals.
Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine
Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine covers resources on the anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, and pathology of the teeth and oral cavity.
Dermatology & Venereal Diseases
Dermatology & Venereal Diseases covers resources on the anatomy, physiology, and pathology of the skin.
Developmental Biology
Developmental Biology includes resources focused on the specific mechanisms of cell, tissue, and organism development, as well as gametogenesis, fertilization, biochemistry and molecular genetic control of development, cell biology of gametes and zygotes, and embryology.
Ecology
Ecology covers resources concerning many areas relating to the study of the interrelationship of organisms and their environments, including ecological economics, ecological engineering, ecotoxicology, ecological modeling, evolutionary ecology, biogeography, chemical ecology, marine ecology, wildlife research, microbial ecology, molecular ecology, and population ecology.
Education, Scientific Disciplines
Education, Scientific Disciplines covers all education resources in the scientific disciplines, including biology, pharmacy, biochemistry, engineering, chemistry, nutrition, and medicine.
Electrochemistry
Electrochemistry covers resources that deal with the chemical changes produced by electricity and the generation of electricity by chemical reactions.
Emergency Medicine
Emergency Medicine covers resources on the science, education, and clinical practice of emergency medicine.
Endocrinology & Metabolism
Endocrinology & Metabolism includes resources focused on endocrine glands; the regulation of cell, organ, and system function by the action of secreted hormones; the generation and chemical/biological properties of these substances; and the pathogenesis and treatment of disorders associated with either source or target organs.
Energy & Fuels
Energy & Fuels covers resources on the development, production, use, application, conversion, and management of nonrenewable (combustible) fuels (such as wood, coal, petroleum, and gas) and renewable energy sources (solar, wind, biomass, geothermal, hydroelectric).
Engineering, Aerospace
Engineering, Aerospace includes resources concerned with astronautics, aeronautics, aerospace, and aviation.
Engineering, Biomedical
Engineering, Biomedical covers resources that apply engineering technology to solving medical problems.
Engineering, Chemical
Engineering, Chemical covers resources that discuss the chemical conversion of raw materials into a variety of products.
Engineering, Civil
Engineering, Civil includes resources on the planning, design, construction, and maintenance of fixed structures and ground facilities for industry, occupancy, transportation, use and control of water, and harbor facilities.
Engineering, Electrical & Electronic
Engineering, Electrical & Electronic covers resources that deal with the applications of electricity, generally those involving current flows through conductors, as in motors and generators.
Engineering, Environmental
Engineering, Environmental includes resources that discuss the effects of human beings on the environment and the development of controls to minimize environmental degradation.
Engineering, Geological
Engineering, Geological includes multidisciplinary resources that encompass the knowledge and experience drawn from both the geosciences and various engineering disciplines (primarily civil engineering).
Engineering, Industrial
Engineering, Industrial includes resources that focus on engineering systems that integrate people, materials, capital, and equipment to provide products and services.
Engineering, Manufacturing
Engineering, Manufacturing covers resources on the conversion of raw materials into end-use products or processed materials.
Engineering, Marine
Engineering, Marine includes resources that focus on the environmental and physical constraints an engineer must consider in the design, construction, navigation, and propulsion of ships and other sea vessels.
Engineering, Mechanical
Engineering, Mechanical includes resources on the generation, transmission, and use of heat and mechanical power, as well as with the production and operation of tools, machinery, and their products.
Engineering, Multidisciplinary
Engineering, Multidisciplinary covers resources having a general or interdisciplinary approach to engineering.
Engineering, Ocean
Engineering, Ocean includes resources concerned with the development of equipment and techniques that allow humans to operate successfully beneath and on the surface of the ocean in order to develop and utilize marine resources.
Engineering, Petroleum
Engineering, Petroleum covers resources that report on a combination of engineering concepts, methods, and techniques on drilling and extracting hydrocarbons and other fluids from the earth (e.g., chemical flooding, thermal flooding, miscible displacement techniques, and horizontal drilling) and on the refining process.
Entomology
Entomology covers resources concerning many aspects of the study of insects, including general entomology, applied entomology, regional entomology, apidology, aquatic insects, insect biochemistry and physiology, economic entomology, integrated pest management, environmental entomology, and pesticide science.
Environmental Sciences
Environmental Sciences covers resources concerning many aspects of the study of the environment, among them environmental contamination and toxicology, environmental health, environmental monitoring, environmental geology, and environmental management.
Evolutionary Biology
Evolutionary Biology covers resources concerning the molecular, natural selection, and population mechanisms of evolution; the evolution of species and related groups; the classification of organisms based on evolutionary relationships; and the biology and ecology of extinct organisms.
Fisheries
Fisheries covers resources concerning numerous aspects of fisheries science, technology and industry, including fish pathology, fish physiology and biochemistry, fish diseases and aquaculture.
Food Science & Technology
Food Science & Technology covers resources concerning various aspects of food research and production, including food additives and contaminants, food chemistry and biochemistry, meat science, food microbiology and technology, dairy science, food engineering and processing, cereal science, brewing, and food quality and safety.
Forestry
Forestry covers resources concerning the science and technology involved in establishing, maintaining and managing forests for various uses, including wood production, water resource management, wildlife conservation and recreation.
Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Gastroenterology & Hepatology covers resources on the anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, and pathology of the digestive system.
Genetics & Heredity
Genetics & Heredity includes resources that deal with the structure, functions, and properties of genes, and the characteristics of inheritance.
Geochemistry & Geophysics
Resources in this category may focus on either Geochemistry or Geophysics or both. Geochemistry covers resources that deal with the chemical composition and chemical changes in the Earth or other planets or asteroids.
Geography, Physical
Geography, Physical covers resources dealing with the differentiation of areas of the Earth's surface as shown in the character, arrangement, and interrelations over the world of such elements as climate, elevation, soil, vegetation, population, land use, industries, or states, as well as the unit areas formed by the complex of these individual elements.
Geology
Geology covers resources that deal with the physical history of the Earth, the rock of which it is composed, and the physical changes (not the physics) that the Earth has undergone or is undergoing.
Geosciences, Multidisciplinary
Geosciences, Multidisciplinary covers resources having a general or interdisciplinary approach to the study of the Earth and other planets. Relevant topics include geology, geochemistry/geophysics, hydrology, paleontology, oceanography, meteorology, mineralogy, geography, and energy and fuels.
Geriatrics & Gerontology
Geriatrics & Gerontology covers resources on the aged and the aging process.
Health Care Sciences & Services
Health Care Sciences & Services covers resources on health services, hospital administration, health care management, health care financing, health policy and planning, health economics, health education, history of medicine, and palliative care.
Hematology
Hematology covers resources that deal with blood and blood-forming tissues, as well as the functions, diseases, and treatments of these systems.
History & Philosophy of Science
History & Philosophy of Science covers resources on the historical and logical connections in the development of the scientific method and in scientific discoveries.
Horticulture
Horticulture covers resources concerning the cultivation of flowers, fruits, vegetables or ornamental plants, in gardens, orchards or nurseries.
Imaging Science & Photographic Technology
Imaging Science & Photographic Technology includes resources that cover pattern recognition, analog and digital signal processing, remote sensing, and optical technology.
Immunology
Immunology covers resources dedicated to all aspects of immune response and regulation, at the cellular-molecular level as well as the clinical level.
Infectious Diseases
Infectious Diseases covers resources on all aspects of the pathogenesis of clinically significant viral or bacterial diseases.
Instruments & Instrumentation
Instruments & Instrumentation includes resources on the application of instruments for observation, measurement, or control of physical and/or chemical systems.
Integrative & Complementary Medicine
Integrative & Complementary Medicine covers resources on the practical use of allopathic, alternative and/or complementary medicine and therapies in preventing and treating disease, healing illness, and promoting health.
Limnology
Limnology covers resources concerning the study of the physical, chemical, meteorological, biological and ecological aspects of freshwaters.
Marine & Freshwater Biology
Marine & Freshwater Biology covers resources concerning many aquatic sciences, including marine ecology and environmental research, aquatic biology, marine pollution and toxicology, aquatic botany and plant management, estuarine and coastal research, diseases of aquatic organisms, molluscan and shellfish research, fish biology and biofouling.
Materials Science, Biomaterials
Materials Science, Biomaterials includes resources that analyze the physical characteristics of living tissue to aid in the development of synthetic replacements for repairs or augmentation of functions.
Materials Science, Ceramics
Materials Science, Ceramics covers resources that deal with inorganic materials with high-temperature melting points, including silicates and aluminosilicates, refractory metal oxides and metal nitrides, and borides.
Materials Science, Characterization & Testing
Materials Science, Characterization & Testing covers resources that focus on techniques used to evaluate and test materials.
Materials Science, Coatings & Films
Materials Science, Coatings & Films covers resources that concentrate on research in coatings and films applied to a base material (substrate). Metals, alloys, resin solutions, and solid/liquid suspensions are the coatings most commonly used in industry.
Materials Science, Composites
Materials Science, Composites covers resources that focus on mixtures or mechanical combinations of two or more materials that are solid in the finished state, are mutually insoluble, and differ in chemical nature.
Materials Science, Multidisciplinary
Materials Science, Multidisciplinary covers resources having a general or multidisciplinary approach to the study of the nature, behavior, and use of materials.
Materials Science, Paper & Wood
Materials Science, Paper & Wood includes resources that cover all aspects of wood and/or paper production.
Materials Science, Textiles
Materials Science, Textiles covers resources that focus on the manufacture of clothing and furniture from materials made of natural fibers (e.g., leather, cotton, wool, wood) and/or synthetic fibers (e.g., polyester, vinyl, nylon).
Mathematics
Mathematics covers resources having a broad, general approach to the field.
Mathematics, Applied
Mathematics, Applied covers resources concerned with areas of mathematics that may be applied to other fields of science. It includes areas such as differential equations, numerical analysis, nonlinearity, control, software, systems analysis, computational mathematics and mathematical modeling.
Mathematics, Interdisciplinary Applications
Mathematics, Interdisciplinary Applications includes resources concerned with mathematical methods whose primary focus is on a specific non-mathematics discipline such as biology, psychology, history, economics, etc
Mechanics
Mechanics includes resources that cover the study of the behavior of physical systems under the action of forces. Relevant topics in this category include fluid mechanics, solid mechanics, gas mechanics, mathematical modeling (chaos and fractals, finite element analysis), thermal engineering, fracture mechanics, heat and mass flow and transfer, phase equilibria studies, plasticity, adhesion, rheology, gravity effects, vibration effects, and wave motion analysis.
Medical Ethics
Medical Ethics covers resources on all aspects of ethics in health care and medicine.
Medical Informatics
Medical Informatics covers resources on health care information in clinical studies and medical research.
Medical Laboratory Technology
Medical Laboratory Technology covers resources on the testing, methods, and equipment used in clinical, medical, hospital, and pathology laboratories, including clinical chemistry and biochemical analysis of laboratory samples.
Medicine, General & Internal
Medicine, General & Internal covers resources on medical specialties such as general medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, clinical physiology, pain management, and military and hospital medicine.
Medicine, Legal
Medicine, Legal covers resources on all aspects of medical legal issues, including government regulations and policies, malpractice, toxicological and pharmacological regulations, clinical therapeutic patents and other critical legal issues at the interface of law, medicine, and healthcare.
Medicine, Research & Experimental
Medicine, Research & Experimental includes resources describing general medical research with a particular emphasis on extremely novel techniques and clinical interventions in a broad range of medical specializations and applications, including vaccine development, tissue replacement, immunotherapies, and other experimental therapeutic strategies.
Metallurgy & Metallurgical Engineering
Metallurgy & Metallurgical Engineering includes resources that cover the numerous chemical and physical processes used to isolate a metallic element from its naturally occurring state, refine it, and convert it into a useful alloy or product.
Meteorology & Atmospheric Sciences
Meteorology & Atmospheric Sciences covers those resources that deal with the atmosphere and its phenomena, especially weather and weather forecasting.
Microbiology
Microbiology includes resources dealing with all aspects of fundamental and applied studies of microorganisms, including bacteria, viruses, and fungi.
Microscopy
Microscopy covers those resources that focus on the interpretative application of microscope magnification to the study of materials that cannot be seen properly by the unaided eye.
Mineralogy
Mineralogy includes resources that deal with the science of minerals, their crystallography, physical and chemical properties, classification, and the ways of distinguishing them.
Mining & Mineral Processing
Mining & Mineral Processing includes resources on locating and evaluating mineral deposits; designing and constructing mines; developing mining equipment; supervising mining operations and safety; and extracting, cleaning, sizing, and dressing mined material.
Multidisciplinary Sciences
Multidisciplinary Sciences includes resources of a very broad or general character in the sciences. It covers the spectrum of major scientific disciplines such as Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Biology, etc. Nature and Science are the preeminent resources in this category and serve as typical examples.
Mycology
Mycology includes resources on topics that range from the general biology of fungi to fungal diseases of humans, animals and plants.
Neuroimaging
Neuroimaging covers resources on the mapping technologies used to treat, diagnose, or monitor brain lesions and mental disorders.
Neurosciences
Neurosciences covers resources on all areas of basic research on the brain, neural physiology, and function in health and disease. The areas of focus include neurotransmitters, neuropeptides, neurochemistry, neural development, and neural behavior.
Nuclear Science & Technology
Nuclear Science & Technology covers resources on nuclear energy (fission and fusion processes), nuclear energy and fuel, nuclear power, and nuclear electric power generation.
Nursing
Nursing covers resources on all aspects of nursing science and practice such as administration, economics, management, education, and technological applications as well as all clinical care specialties.
Nutrition & Dietetics
Nutrition & Dietetics covers resources concerning many aspects of nutrition, including general nutrition, nutrition and metabolism, nutrition science, clinical nutrition, vitamin research and nutritional biochemistry. Dietetics, the application of nutritional principles, is also included in this category.
Obstetrics & Gynecology
Obstetrics & Gynecology covers resources on the medical fields concerned with female reproductive function and reproductive organs. Obstetrics covers resources on pregnancy, fetal health, labor, and puerperium. Gynecology covers resources on the health and diseases of female sex organs and their impact on women's overall health.
Oceanography
Oceanography covers resources concerning the scientific study and exploration of the oceans and seas in all their aspects, including the delimitation of their extent and depth, the physics and chemistry of their waters, and the exploration of their resources.
Oncology
Oncology covers resources on the mechanisms, causes, and treatments of cancer including environmental and genetic risk factors, and cellular and molecular carcinogenesis.
Operations Research & Management Science
Operations Research & Management Science includes resources on the definition, analysis, and solution of complex problems.
Ophthalmology
Ophthalmology covers resources on the eye, its diseases, and refractive errors. Coverage includes research on the cornea, retina, and eye diseases.
Optics
Optics includes resources that deal with the genesis and propagation of light, the changes that it undergoes and produces, and other phenomena closely associated with it.
Ornithology
Ornithology covers resources concerning many aspects of the study of birds, including avian biology, field ornithology, avian biochemistry and physiology, avian systematics and taxonomy, raptor research, bird behavior and migration.
Orthopedics
Orthopedics covers resources on surgery and medical appliances as a means to preserve or restore function or alleviate pain in the musculoskeletal system, particularly the bones and joints.
Otorhinolaryngology
Otorhinolaryngology covers resources on the basic and clinical research and medicine of the ears, nose, and throat.
Paleontology
Paleontology includes resources that focus on the study of life and physical conditions, such as climate and geography, of past geological periods as recorded by fossil remains.
Parasitology
Parasitology covers resources concerning many aspects of the study of parasites, organisms that live in or on other living organisms, deriving benefits for themselves and often causing harm to their hosts.
Pathology
Pathology includes resources specializing in the techniques, causes, and developmental effect of disease on living tissue.
Pediatrics
Pediatrics covers resources on basic and clinical research in pediatrics. Numerous pediatric specialties are covered including, cardiology and respiratory systems, dentistry, dermatology, developmental behavior, gastroenterology, hematology, immunology and infectious diseases, neurology, nutrition, oncology, psychiatry, surgery, tropical medicine, urology, and nephrology.
Peripheral Vascular Disease
Peripheral Vascular Disease covers resources on arterial occlusive disease (atherosclerosis or hardening of the arteries), venous obstruction and clotting, venous incompetence/insufficiency, cerebrovascular disease, aneurysms, vasospastic disorders, and other vascular disorders.
Pharmacology & Pharmacy
Pharmacology & Pharmacy covers resources on the discovery and testing of bioactive substances, including animal research, clinical experience, delivery systems, and dispensing of drugs.
Physics, Applied
Physics, Applied covers those resources dealing with the applications of condensed matter, optics, vacuum science, lasers, electronics, cryogenics, magnets and magnetism, acoustical physics, and mechanics.
Physics, Atomic, Molecular & Chemical
Physics, Atomic, Molecular & Chemical includes resources concerned with the physics of atoms and molecules.
Physics, Condensed Matter
Physics, Condensed Matter covers resources that deal with the study of the structure and the thermal, mechanical, electrical, magnetic, and optical properties of condensed matter.
Physics, Fluids & Plasmas
Physics, Fluids & Plasmas covers resources on the kinetic and transport theory of fluids, the physical properties of gases, and the physics of plasmas and electric discharges.
Physics, Mathematical
Physics, Mathematical includes resources that focus on mathematical methods in physics. It includes resources on logic, set theory, algebra, group theory, function theory, analysis, geometry, topology, and probability theory that have applications in physics.
Physics, Multidisciplinary
Physics, Multidisciplinary covers resources having a general or interdisciplinary approach to physics. This category also includes theoretical and experimental physics as well as special topics that have relevance to many areas of physics.
Physics, Nuclear
Physics, Nuclear includes resources on the study of nuclear structure, decay, radioactivity, reactions, and scattering.
Physics, Particles & Fields
Physics, Particles & Fields includes resources on the study of the structure and properties of elementary particles and resonances and their interactions.
Physiology
Physiology includes resources concerned with the normal and pathologic functioning of living cells, tissues, and organisms.
Plant Sciences
Plant Sciences covers resources concerning many aspects of the study of plants including systematic, biochemical, agricultural, and pharmaceutical topics.
Polymer Science
Polymer Science includes all resources dealing with the study, production, and technology of natural or synthetic polymers.
Psychiatry
Psychiatry covers resources on clinical, therapeutic, research, and community aspects of human mental, emotional, and behavioral disorders.
Psychology
Psychology is concerned with resources on the study of human behavior and mental processes. This category covers the biological and neurological underpinnings of perception, thought, and behavior; psychological development and change over the life span; in addition to emotional and mental disturbances and diseases and their treatment.
Public, Environmental & Occupational Health
Public, Environmental & Occupational Health covers resources dealing with epidemiology, hygiene, and health; parasitic diseases and parasitology; tropical medicine; industrial medicine; occupational medicine; infection control; and preventive medicine.
Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging
Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging covers resources on radiation research in biology and biophysics.
Rehabilitation
Rehabilitation covers resources on therapy to aid in the recovery or enhancement of physical, cognitive, or social abilities diminished by birth defect, disease, injury, or aging.
Remote Sensing
Remote Sensing includes resources on the technique of remote observation and of obtaining reliable information about physical objects and the environment through the process of recording, measuring, and interpreting photographic images and patterns of electromagnetic radiation from space.
Reproductive Biology
Reproductive Biology includes resources that cover reproduction in humans, animals, and plants. This category ranges from the molecular biology of reproduction through reproductive nutrition, immunology, and toxicology.
Respiratory System
Respiratory System covers resources on all aspects of respiratory and lung diseases, including their relation to cardiovascular and thoracic surgery and diseases.
Rheumatology
Rheumatology covers resources on clinical, therapeutic, and laboratory research about arthritis and rheumatism, the chronic degenerative autoimmune inflammatory diseases that primarily affect joints and connective tissue.
Robotics
Robotics includes resources that cover the branch of engineering devoted to the design, training, and application of robots, mechanical devices capable of performing a variety of manipulation and locomotion tasks.
Spectroscopy
Spectroscopy covers resources concerned with the production, measurement, and interpretation of electromagnetic spectra arising from either emission or absorption of radiant energy by various sources.
Sport Sciences
Sport Sciences covers resources on the applied physiology of human performance, physical conditioning for sports participation, optimal nutrition for sports performance, and the prevention and treatment of sports-related injuries and diseases.
Statistics & Probability
Statistics & Probability covers resources concerned with methods of obtaining, analyzing, summarizing, and interpreting numerical or quantitative data.
Substance Abuse
Substance Abuse covers resources on the behavior, education, treatment, and research of alcohol, drug, and other substances of addiction.
Surgery
Surgery covers resources on general surgical topics including the different types of surgery (cardiovascular, neurosurgery, orthopedic, pediatric, or vascular); allied disciplines of surgery (surgical oncology, pathology, or radiology); and surgical techniques (arthroscopy, microscopy, or endoscopy).
Telecommunications
Telecommunications covers resources on the technical and engineering aspects of communications over long distances via telephone, television, cable, fiber optics, radio, computer networks, telegraph, satellites, and so on.
Thermodynamics
Thermodynamics includes resources that focus on the areas of physics examining the transformations of matter and energy in physical and chemical processes, particularly those processes that involve the transfer of heat and changes in temperature.
Toxicology
Toxicology covers resources that focus on the identification, biochemistry, and effects of harmful substances, including the side effects of drugs, in animals, humans, and the environment.
Transplantation
Transplantation covers resources that focus on the assimilation of grafted tissue and the reconstitution of removed organs or parts of organs.
Transportation Science & Technology
Transportation Science & Technology covers resources on all aspects of the movement of goods and peoples as well as the design and maintenance of transportation systems.
Tropical Medicine
Tropical Medicine covers resources on the study and treatment of disease, parasites, and other medical conditions unique to or originating in tropical regions.
Urology & Nephrology
Urology & Nephrology covers resources on the diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the genitourinary tract and kidneys.
Veterinary Sciences
Veterinary Sciences covers resources concerning both the research and clinical aspects of animal health, diseases, injuries, nutrition, reproduction, and public health.
Virology
Virology includes resources dealing with all aspects of viral organisms and host-virus interactions. Resources in this category cover the molecular, biochemical, and cellular studies of plant-, animal-, and human-specific viruses, as well as bacteriophages.
Water Resources
Water Resources covers resources concerning a number of water-related topics. These include desalination, ground water monitoring and remediation, hydrology, irrigation and drainage science and technology, water quality, hydraulic engineering, ocean and coastal management, river research and management, waterways and ports.
Zoology
Zoology covers resources concerning a broad range of topics on the study of animals. This category ranges from animal behavior and animal physiology to some aspects of animal ecology.

Social Sciences subjects include

Anthropology
Anthropology covers resources relating to the scientific study of human beings, especially their origin, distribution, behavior, as well as their physical, social and cultural characteristics and development.
Applied Linguistics
Applied Linguistics covers resources relating to language as a social phenomenon. These may include sociolinguistics, language acquisition, psycholinguistics, computational linguistics, and the relationship between memory and language, as well as social semiotics.
Area Studies
Area Studies covers resources concerned with the social, economic, political, and military character of a geographical area or region, such as Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Middle East, Pacific Rim, etc.
Business
This category covers resources concerned with all aspects of business and the business world. These may include marketing and advertising, forecasting, planning, administration, organizational studies, compensation, strategy, retailing, consumer research, and management.
Business, Finance
Business, Finance covers resources primarily concerned with financial and economic correlations, accounting, financial management, investment strategies, the international monetary system, insurance, taxation, and banking.
Communication
Communication covers resources on the study of the verbal and non-verbal exchange of ideas and information. Included here are communication theory, practice and policy, media studies (journalism, broadcasting, advertising, etc.), mass communication, public opinion, speech, business and technical writing as well as public relations.
Criminology & Penology
Criminology & Penology covers resources relating to the study of crime as a social phenomenon. Included here are resources on the treatment, management, and rehabilitation of offenders, as well as on criminal law.
Demography
Demography includes resources on human populations, especially with regard to their size, density, distribution, and vital statistics.
Economics
Economics covers resources on all aspects, both theoretical and applied, of the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services.
Education & Educational Research
Education & Educational Research covers resources on the full spectrum of education, from theoretical to applied, from nursery school to Ph.D.
Education, Special
Education, Special covers resources that are concerned with the education and development of persons with special needs, including the gifted as well as those with learning disabilities.
Environmental Studies
Environmental Studies covers resources that are multidisciplinary in nature. These include environmental policy, regional science, planning and law, management of natural resources, energy policy, and environmental psychology.
Ergonomics
Ergonomics includes resources concerned with the study of the relationship between humans and machines, particularly in a work environment.
Ethics
Ethics covers resources on normative ethics, including all aspects of the evaluation of human conduct and social relations, such as business ethics, medical ethics, environmental ethics, etc. Descriptive ethics is covered extensively in A&HCI, Philosophy.
Ethnic Studies
Ethnic Studies covers resources on ethnic/racial, social and cultural diversity issues, including the history and the political, social, and economic interactions of specific ethnic groups.
Family Studies
Family Studies includes resources on such issues and areas as family therapy, family law, marriage, divorce, family planning, and family history.
Geography
Geography covers resources concerned with socio-cultural aspects of the Earth's surface emphasizing the human, economic, political, urban, and environmental issues of the discipline.
Gerontology
Gerontology covers resources that are concerned with the sociological and psychological issues of aging, including such areas as rehabilitation, aging and education, aging and work, aging and social policy as well as life span research.
Health Policy & Services
Health Policy & Services covers resources on healthcare systems, including healthcare provision and management, financial analysis, healthcare ethics, health policy, and quality of care.
History
The History category in Social Science covers resources that are primarily concerned with political, social, and economic history.
History & Philosophy Of Science
History & Philosophy of Science covers resources on the history of scientific disciplines including medicine and technology, as well as resources on the philosophical and social studies of science.
History of Social Sciences
History of Social Sciences includes resources on the history of such disciplines as business, economics, education, sociology, law, and psychology.
Industrial Relations & Labor
Industrial Relations & Labor covers resources on arbitration, business and labor law, human resources, labor history, labor relations, and the sociology of work relations.
Information Science & Library Science
Information Science & Library Science covers resources on a wide variety of topics, including bibliographic studies, cataloguing, categorization, database construction and maintenance, electronic libraries, information ethics, information processing and management, interlending, preservation, scientometrics, serials librarianship, and special libraries.
International Relations
International Relations covers resources concerned with foreign policy, comparative world politics, world commerce and trade, international legal issues, peace studies and conflict resolution, military alliances, and strategic studies.
Law
Law covers resources from both general and specialized areas of national and international law, including comparative law, criminology, business law, banking, corporate and tax law, constitutional law, civil rights, copyright and intellectual property law, environmental law, family law, medicine and the law as well as psychology and the law.
Management
Management covers resources on management science, organization studies, strategic planning and decision-making methods, leadership studies, and total quality management.
Nursing
Nursing covers resources on nursing science and practice such as administration, economics, management, education, and technological applications.
Planning & Development
Planning & Development is concerned with resources on the economics and social development of both underdeveloped and industrialized areas.
Political Science
Political Science covers resources concerned with political studies, military studies, the electoral and legislative processes, political theory, history of political science, comparative studies of political systems, and the interaction of politics and other areas of science and social science.
Psychiatry
Psychiatry covers resources that focus on the origins, diagnosis, and treatment of mental, emotional, or behavioral disorders.
Psychology, Applied
Psychology, Applied covers resources on organizational psychology, including selection, training, performance, and evaluation; organizational behavior; counseling and development; as well as aviation psychology and sports psychology.
Psychology, Biological
Psychology, Biological includes resources concerned with the biological basis of psychological states and processes. Biopsychology, psychophysiology, psychopharmacology, and comparative psychology resources are covered in this category.
Psychology, Clinical
Psychology, Clinical covers resources concerned with the combination of psychological therapy and clinical treatment such as behavior research and therapy, cognitive therapy, family therapy, marital and sexual therapy, psychotherapy, and rehabilitation psychology.
Psychology, Developmental
Psychology, Developmental covers resources concerned with the study of developmental changes in social and cognitive abilities.
Psychology, Educational
Psychology, Educational includes resources on educational psychology, educational measurement, creative behavior, instructional science, reading research, and school psychology.
Psychology, Experimental
Psychology, Experimental covers resources concerned with consciousness; cognition and memory; visual, auditory, and speech perception; and ecological psychology.
Psychology, Mathematical
Psychology, Mathematical covers resources concerned with experimental methodology and instrumentation, multivariate methods, statistical manipulation, and research strategy.
Psychology, Multidisciplinary
Psychology, Multidisciplinary covers resources with a general or interdisciplinary approach to the field. Resources on philosophical psychology, psychobiology, and the history of psychology are included in this category.
Psychology, Psychoanalysis
Psychology, Psychoanalysis includes resources concerned with psychoanalysis as a form of diagnosis and treatment that emphasizes the gradual integration of repressed memories into the total structure of the personality.
Psychology, Social
Psychology, Social covers resources on the behavior of the individual in a social context. Areas included are group processes, interpersonal processes, intercultural relations, personality, social roles, persuasion, compliance, conformity, sex roles, and sexual orientation.
Public Administration
Public Administration covers resources concerned with the management of public enterprises, implementation of governmental decisions, the relationship between public and private sectors, public finance policy, and state bureaucracy studies.
Public, Environmental & Occupational Health
Public, Environmental & Occupational Health covers resources on social medicine, health behavior, health education, safety research, and community mental health.
Rehabilitation
Rehabilitation covers resources concerned with therapeutic approaches for the treatment of mental, speech, hearing, visual, and other physical disabilities.
Social Issues
Social Issues covers resources in a wide variety of topics addressing social problems for the individual, family, or society. Resources included in this category deal with death studies, issues in science and technology, gender studies, ethical studies, media studies, race and class, and the interaction of technology and society.
Social Sciences, Biomedical
Social Sciences, Biomedical includes resources on the political and social effects of biomedical research.
Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary
Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary includes resources with an interdisciplinary approach to the field such as studies on social sciences and computers, time and society, evaluation practice, black studies, information science and society, homosexuality studies, childhood studies, and death studies.
Social Sciences, Mathematical Methods
Social Sciences, Mathematical Methods covers resources concerned with the quantitative methodologies used for research in social sciences such as mathematical modeling and statistical techniques for psychological, sociological, and economic data evaluation.
Social Work
Social Work covers resources concerned with homelessness, social casework, social services, social work education, public welfare, family counseling, child welfare and abuse, social work administration, social work with groups, and gerontological social work.
Sociology
Sociology covers resources that focus on the study of human society, social structures, and social change as well as human behavior as it is shaped by social forces.
Substance Abuse
Substance Abuse covers resources concerned primarily with the social and psychological problems of addiction, substance abuse education, and the treatment of the chemically dependent.Index.
Transportation
Transportation covers resources concerned with transportation policy, economics, management, transportation development, and transportation studies.
Urban Studies
Urban Studies covers resources concerned with the social aspects of city planning and urban design.
Women's Studies
Women's Studies covers resources that focus on interdisciplinary topics such as women and health, women's psychology, women and politics, as well as gender studies and feminism.

Further details of the subject categories are available on the JCR website under the Scope Notes next to the subject category selection page.

Geographic coverage

International

Includes

Divided into two sections, Sciences Edition and the Social Sciences Edition.

Sciences Edition includes data from about 5,000 journals. Social Sciences Edition includes data from about 1,500 journals.

Provides details of:
Citation and Article count
Impact Factor
Immediacy Index
Citing and Cited Half Life
Citing and Cited Journal Listing
Subject Categories
Publisher Information

It is possible to search only one year's data at a time. Trend data for several previous years is included.

Non-electronic version

Earlier years are available on microfiche in the Reference Collection R016.505/11A (Science) and R016.3005/1 (Social Science)

Authentication

IP authentication

User guide

This product runs on the Web of Knowledge platform

Help on website and there is a tutorial
UOW guide to JCR Web
There is also important information on how to interpret the data available at the website.

Number of users allowed

5

Publisher

Thomson Scientific (formerly Institute for Scientific Information)

Notes

It is strongly suggested that new users read the detailed explanation of how to interpret the data.

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback