UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

JSTOR

Access

Access JSTOR

 

Coverage

JSTOR aims to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Access is provided back to the first issue. For some titles this means access to over a century of publication.

The Collections subscribed to are the Arts and Sciences I, II and III.

There are other collections to which the Library does not subscribe. Some publishers may link to their older content in JSTOR. This does not mean that our users will have access.

As JSTOR is an archive there is a 1-10 year gap between the date of the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.

Subject

Collection I has core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as selected content in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Collection II features additional content in economics, history, and Asian studies. It also offers core journals in archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies.
Collection III focuses on the humanities in the areas of language and literature, music and the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, and religion.

 

Geographic coverage

International

 

Includes

Articles are in pdf. Articles with photographic images often provide another version of the image with higher resolution for greater clarity.

 

Non-electronic version

Some of the title are held in print by the Library

Authentication

IP authentication using EZproxy

User guide

Searching and viewing:
There is a basic and an advanced search. In most cases the basic search is quite adequate. When searching it is necessary to select at least one discipline or journal for the search to be conducted on.

There is also the option to browse journals by discipline. In some instances there are links from JSTOR to the latest volumes of the journals. Access to these volumes will only be available if the Library has a subscription to the journal.

Articles are in pdf. Articles with photographic images often provide another version of the image with higher resolution for greater clarity.

Saving
Citations may be saved and exported into reference manager software. Articles may be saved as regular or high resolution pdf documents. There are also options to save in postscript and tiff formats where preferred

Printing:
Citations may be exported for printing in printer friendly format. Articles may be printed in pdf format, with a recommended high quality setting. There is a lower quality setting for dialup users which employs smaller file sizes. JSTOR also uses a plugin called JPRINT. In most cases, JPRINT is the fastest printing option because the helper application will begin printing as soon as the first page of the article has been downloaded.

Emailing - Citations may be emailed but there are no features within the software to email fulltext documents.

 

 

Number of users allowed

Not limited

 

Publisher

The collection has contents from a number of publishers

 

Notes

Funding for this service was originally provided by Federal funding through the ARIIC.

It is now subscribed to by the Library following the end of the ARIIC funding period.

 

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback