UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Materials Business File

Access

Access Materials Business File

Coverage

Approximately 1985-current. The oldest record in the database has a publication date of 1962; about 50% of its records have publication dates of 1994 or later.

 

Subject

Materials Business File focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries, new technologies, new materials and other industry developments reported in the press.
Major areas of coverage include:

* Recycling
* Health and Safety issues
* Economics
* Alloy and Material Developments
* Company information
* New material developments
* Energy Usage
* Fuel, Energy Usage, Raw Materials, Recycling
* Plant Developments and Descriptions
* Engineering, Control and Testing, Machinery
* Environmental Issues, Waste Treatment, Health and Safety
* Product and Process Developments Applications, Competitive Materials, Substitution
* Management, Training, Regulations, Marketing
* Economics, Statistics, Resources and Reserves
* World Industry News
* Company Information
* General Issues

 

Geographic coverage

International

 

Includes

Citations for this database are pulled from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books. The database has about 187,000 records as of September 2004.

 

Non-electronic version

Materials Business File is the database equivalent of the bulletins Steels Alert, Polymers/Ceramics/Composites Alert and Nonferrous Metals Alert.

Authentication

IP authentication using EZpropxy

User guide

Help available on system

The tutorials cover quick, advanced and command search. They employ audio as well as screen displays.

Results are displayed as one set but there is the option to display by format using tabs at the top of the display. This allows easy access to references from peer reviewed journals, patents, book chapters etc.

QuickBib allows users to easily generate a bibliography of selected database records in some of the most popular bibliographic styles.

Help with displaying pdf documents

 

Number of users allowed

not limited

Publisher

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts

 

Notes

Updated twice a month.

 

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback