UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Media Scan

Access

Informit Access Mediascan

Coverage

1991 -

Subject

Current events and news items

Geographic coverage

International

Includes

Media Scan indexes the following newspapers:
Sydney Morning Herald (1996-) -
The Age (1991-)
The Australian (1991-)
The Herald Sun (1991-)
The Bulletin (1991-)
The Courier Mail (1995-)
Sunday Mail (1994-)
Adelaide Advertiser (1997)
West Australian (1996-1997)

The guidelines for indexing articles in Media Scan are as follows:
All lead items (on page 1) except sport results.
All feature articles.
All articles concerning contentious issues such as abortion, republic debate, euthanasia.
Most articles about Australian Politics, elections and events.
All editorials, all opinion articles, commentaries.
Letters to the Editor.
Main international articles.
All articles about new technology, inventions, science research.
Articles from computer sections.
National and international disasters such as earthquakes, floods.
Political and topical cartoons.
Summaries of reports, statistics, opinion polls, research papers.
Education articles.

Non-electronic version

-

Authentication

IP or password authentication

User guide

Truncation: (*) serves as a substitute for any string of zero or more characters,e.g. tax* finds tax, taxes, taxation, taxing
Within a word (*) serves as a substitute for one character or none. Multiple asterisks (***) replace tup to that number of characters. e.g. colo*r finds color or colour. dra***t finds draft of draught
Once logged on select Database Information for description of the database, select Help for description of the search software.

Informit Search - Quick Reference Guide (pdf) - on Informit website

Number of users allowed

Not limited

Publisher

Media Scan

Notes

Media Scan was originally developed to assist students prepare for VCE Cat1. Over a period of time Media Scan incorporated many more articles covering a wider range of subjects, and so introduced interstate papers into the database.
Fulltext is not included in this database. The Library subscribes to several in print and also has some available electronically through Electric Library and Dow Jones Interactive

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback