UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

More information about Oxford English Dictionary

Access

Access Oxford English Dictionary

 

Coverage

The most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of English in the world, and the definitive record of English language development over more than a thousand years.

It is a recognised guide to both the meaning and usage of English words – present and past.

 

Subject

English Language, the meaning of all English words, regional variations and the history of the words and their meaning.

 

Geographic coverage

International. English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean

Includes

It includes the meaning of over 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world using 2.4 million quotations from a wide range of sources.

The OED also offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the
International Phonetic Alphabet.

A list of the words appearing before or after the search word in the dictionary is displayed. It is possible to see words used originally at the same date

There are various options for display, including pronunciation, dates of usage, etymology etc.

 

Non-electronic version

20-volume Second Edition
and 3 Additions Series volumes.

(The electronic version also reflects work on the new edition, commenced 2000 and this is what is searched by default)

 

Authentication

IP authentication utilising EZproxy

 

User guide

Under, Help with using OED online users will find quick reference guide, tour and FAQs to assist them. As well they can search or browse the help to answer specific questions or use the right hand navigation bar.

Viewing - There are various options to include pronunciation, dates of usage, etymology etc. in the display. Latest informatio from the updates is available separately.
Printing - There is a display for printing
Emailing - results can be emailed

Add OED online to your browser toolbar and highlight a word in any web site, click the Search OED Online button on your browser toolbar, and your browser window will display the results of a Find Word search having been performed in OED Online on the selected text.

Number of users allowed

Not limited

Publisher

Oxford University Press

Notes

There is a word of the day that users can have emailed to them automatically.

 

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback