UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Sociological Abstracts

Access

CSA Access Sociological Abstracts

Coverage

1952 -

Subject

Sociology and related disciplines, including

Culture and social structure
Demography and human biology
Economic development
Environmental interactions
Evaluation research
Family and social welfare
Health and medicine and law
History and theory of sociology
Management and complex organizations
Mass phenomena and political interactions
Methodology and research technology
Policy, planning, forecast and speculation
Radical sociology
Religion and science
Rural and urban sociology
Social development
Social differentiation
Social psychology and group interaction
Sociology of the arts, business, education
Studies in violence and power
Substance abuse and addiction
Welfare services
Women's studies

 

Geographic coverage

International

Includes

The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles.

Non-electronic version

-

Authentication

IP authentication utilising EZproxy

User guide

Help available on system. Go to Help & Support and follow links for system issues or find details of Sociological Abstracts on their guide.

The tutorials cover quick, advanced and command search. They employ audio as well as screen displays.

Results are displayed as one set but there is the option to display by format using tabs at the top of the display. This allows easy access to references from peer reviewed journals, patents, book chapters etc.

QuickBib allows users to easily generate a bibliography of selected database records in some of the most popular bibliographic styles.

Help with displaying pdf documents

Number of users allowed

Not limited

Publisher

Sociological Abstracts

Notes

Two supplementary database are searched simultaneously: Recent References Related to the Social Sciences/Humanities and Web Resources Related to the Social Sciences/Humanities.

 

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback