UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

Springerlink

Access

Springerlink website

Coverage

SpringerLink provides fulltex access to a large collection of journals. Coverage is from 1997 onwards.

There is also an archive collection for most titles under a separate link. The Library does not subscribe to the archive but users can still see abstracts.

The full-text versions of papers marked as Springer Open Choice articles are available free of charge to all Internet users.

Fulltext is available in both html and pdf. There is extensive use made of hyperlinks in the html format and a different html version for printing is provided. Some titles may have special formats to handle information in the form most appropriate to the discipline.

 

Subject

Springer divides the collection into the following "libraries": Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy.

Geographic coverage

International

 

Includes

SpringerLink currently offers over 1,200 fully peer reviewed journals. These are quality refereed journal titles which support some of the University's key research areas.

This site includes titles that were previously published by Kluwer. Springer and Kluwer merged, effective 2005 and the content is now all under the Springer name

The Springer site also has electronic books and expert systems at the site. Most of these are not inlcuded in the subscription, however Lecture Notes in Computer Science is subscribed to by the University. The backfile of Lecture Notes in Computer Science is to 1997.

SpringerLink Reference includes subscribed content that was previously available as Kluwer Reference. There is a separate link to this content on the databases page

 

 

Non-electronic version

The Library has a limited number of print titles from previous years for this publisher.

 

Authentication

IP authentication using EZproxy.

 

User guide

When browsing, the spectacles icon shows what is viewable under our subscription.

Note that the default search will search all of Springerlink. Under the advanced search there is an option to limit to viewable articles. This is useful because otherwise many book chapters and journal archive collections that are not viewable are returned. Advanced options under advanced search allows the user to search just for journal or just for book articles. You may find the link to searchtips, which is displayed under advanced search, useful.

There is a useful FAQ page at Springerlink

They also provide a user manual (pdf)

Number of users allowed

Not Limited

 

Publisher

Springer-Verlag

 

Notes

Springer-Verlag and Kluwer have now combined. This is under the Springerlink interface. The content has been considerably augmented as a result and the subject areas under the Springer name have broadened.

 

 

 

Revised: 10-Jul-2007 14:39 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback